Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Recommended Research Databases
Here are a few good databases to get you started. There are more recommendations on the Biology Research Guide.
Web of Science
A huge database of scholarly literature across the sciences, strong in both historical and current coverage. Includes extensive citation mapping.
Similar to Web of Science in that it's quite broad and comprehensive and allows citation analysis. Sometimes stronger coverage of non-article publications like conference papers.
A large database of biomedical and related literature. Its strengths are controlled subject searching (MeSH) and linking with other NCBI resources.
Citation Management Tools
These tools save and organize references, and can integrate with word processors to format in-text references and bibliographies. See here for some additional comparisons between the programs. Librarians can help you choose a tool, transfer between tools, and troubleshoot.
Free and open source, so no concerns about whether colleagues at other institutions will have access or whether your access will be interrupted after you leave Duke. Support for collaboration is a particular strength and the browser extension for importing references is very robust.
(NOTE: NetID authentication required for this link) Proprietary and licensed for all current Duke affiliates (so you get it without paying), but alums would need to pay or transfer to another tool. Handling of collaboration/coauthorship is not as nice as in Zotero and Mendeley and the browser extension is horrible, but users love features like Find Full Text (pdf fetching) and easy customization of output styles.
Free but proprietary (so possible concerns with vendor lock-in and lack of transparency). Nice collaboration features and social sharing/discovery. Users like the pdf annotation features, too.
Other Featured Library Resources
Center for Data & Visualization Sciences
This group consults on many topics, from improving the management of your own research data to helping you make more effective and attractive figures, posters, and interactive visualizations. They also put on excellent workshops.
Experts can advise you on copyright in the classroom, (not) signing away your rights when you publish, open access publishing, and more.
"Current Awareness" (keeping up with the literature)
This guide from the Med Center Library has some nice tools and tips for staying on top of new publications and developments. The tabs labeled Email Alerts and RSS are the most relevant for non-clinician researchers.