LibGuides: BIOLOGY 495: Scientific Argument in Writing: Literature Searching

Undergrad Honors Theses in DukeSpace

Undergrad Theses - Biology
See the full text of prior Biology Honors Theses submitted to DukeSpace.

Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive database with powerful options to refine search results and explore citation networks. Good historical coverage.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Similar features to Web of Science. Less historical coverage, more non-article literature, but mostly just a question of whether you prefer this interface.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Covers biomedical (including much basic bioscience) literature, 1946-present. Medical Subject Headings (MeSH terms) allow powerful subject searching.
BIOSIS Citation Index This link opens in a new window
Uses the Web of Science interface and covers life sciences literature. Includes more controlled, biological subject terms.
Zoological Record This link opens in a new window
Uses the Web of Science interface and covers zoological literature back to 1864. Includes more controlled subject terms, especially taxon names.
SciFinder-n This link opens in a new window
Search for chemistry-related literature, patents, and substance and reaction data. NEW USERS: You must create an account here to begin using Scifinder-n.
Environment Complete This link opens in a new window
Searches for journal articles and books in the areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, and energy
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Easy to use but results can be messy. Fewer tools advanced search and refine tools.

Databases A-Z
Filter by Subject to see Recommended Databases for every Dept at Duke.
Connected Papers
A site for visualizing how a paper is connected to others in similar fields. Warning: You only get 5 free paper graphs per month.