Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Databases (for articles)
- Academic Search Premier
Excellent general database
America: History and Life
Index of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present.
- Historical Abstracts
Contains citations and abstracts to books and articles on the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present.
- Bibliography of British and Irish History
A comprehensive index to books, articles, and primary sources about the history of Britain, Ireland, and the British overseas from the Roman period to the present day.
- History of Science
Indexes journal articles, conference proceedings, books, book reviews, and dissertations in the history of science, technology, medicine, and allied historical fields.
- PAIS and Worldwide Political Science Abstracts
PAIS began is and is online from 1915 to the present. Includes many government and international organization documents.
- Periodicals Index Online
A specialty index which includes references to thousands of periodicals in the humanities and social sciences from 1770 to 1995.
JSTOR is a collection of the full text contents of a broad range of academic journals. The search interface of JSTOR and its broad coverage make it useful as a one stop shop for secondary literature though it is by no means comprehensive