Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
LANIC Brazil LANIC's mission is to facilitate access to Internet-based information to, from, or on Latin America. There is a full-time staff at the University of Texas Austin who review and organize lists of websites. They also have a number of special projects on their site that may be of interest.
Feature Films and Documentaries
Subject headings that will lead you to a current list of DVDs on Brazil
Useful Databases for Journal Articles
- Hispanic American Periodicals Index - A citation database to articles on Latin America, the Caribbean, the United States-Mexico border region, and Hispanics in the United States from 1970-Present.
- Informe - Contains the full text of popular magazines, academic journals and selected newspaper articles in Spanish from the mid-1990s to Present. Search in Spanish.
- Latindex provides access to the contents and full text documents of scholarly journals available on digital collections from Latin America, the Caribbean, Spain and Portugal. It includes the databases Redalyc and Scielo as well as others.
- Prisma - (Publicaciones y Revistas Sociales y Humanísticas) provides full-text to scholarly journals for the interdisciplinary study of Latin America & the Caribbean from the 1970s-Present.
- Red ALyC - An open access database of full-text articles from scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences published primarily in Latin American, the Caribbean, and Iberia. Search in Spanish.
- Researching Brazil - An open access database that indexes 80 journals from and about Brazil.
- SciELO - Scientific Electronic Library Online - An open access database of full-text journal articles published in Latin America
- World Scholar - Latin America & the Caribbean - A collection of primary source documents about Latin America and the Caribbean; full-text of academic journals and news-feeds covering the region; reference articles and commentary; maps, images and statistics; audio and video.
- Latin American Newsstand Newspapers from Latin America and the Caribbean in full text. Starting dates vary from 1995 forward.
- dLOC - Digital Library of the Caribbean A growing full text archival project with newspapers from Caribbean countries.
- Ethnic NewsWatch Contains the full text of more than 450,000 articles published in nearly 200 ethnic & minority publications.
- Factiva A great source for newspapers but with a complicated search. View the Flash tutorial at the database guide link before searching Factiva. Contains thousands of foreign newspapers including Latin American sources.
- Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) 1941-1996. Translated into English from more than 50 languages these comprehensive media reports from around the globe include news, interviews, speeches and editorial commentary. Another database, World News Collection, picks up in 2003 - Present.
- ISI Emerging Markets Click any country name on the right hand of the page to begin your search without the need for further login credentials. Provides company directory information, financial data, and news from the world's emerging markets.
- Latin American Weekly Report A weekly review of country by country events with special reports on selected subjects.
- Lexis-Nexis Academic Use the "Search the News" section & select the "Source Type" from the dropdown menu. Contains thousands of foreign newspapers including Latin American sources.
- NewsCat Links to over 1000 full-text paper titles with a goal to link to as many US and Caribbean papers with archival digital content as possible.
- VEJA Digital - Digital access to all issues of Veja, an important weekly Brazilian news magazine. Coverages begins with issue 1 1968.
- World Newspaper Archive - Latin America - A fully searchable collection of historical newspapers from the 19th and early 20th centuries. An extensive Latin American collection is included.
Use all three major catalogs - Duke; TRLN; WorldCat
Find one interesting book on your subject using KEYWORDS. Then click on the tab marked SUBJECTS and click on those links. They will lead you to more books on your subject.
Likely Subject Headings