Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
- Latin American Newsstand Newspapers from Latin America and the Caribbean in full text. Starting dates vary from 1995 forward.
- Alternative Press Index Alternative Press Index Archive (APIA) is a database of journal, newspaper, and magazine articles from over 700 international alternative, radical, and left periodicals that cover the period of 1969 through 1990.
- Ethnic NewsWatch Contains the full text of more than 450,000 articles published in nearly 200 ethnic & minority publications.
- Factiva A great source for newspapers but with a complicated search. View the Flash tutorial at the database guide link before searching Factiva. Contains thousands of foreign newspapers including Latin American sources.
- Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) 1941-1996. Translated into English from more than 50 languages these comprehensive media reports from around the globe include news, interviews, speeches and editorial commentary. Another database, World News Collection, picks up in 2003 - Present.
- Latin American Weekly Report A weekly review of country by country events with special reports on selected subjects.
- Lexis-Nexis Academic Use the "Search the News" section & select the "Source Type" from the dropdown menu. Contains thousands of foreign newspapers including Latin American sources.
- NewsCat Links to over 1000 full-text paper titles with a goal to link to as many US and Caribbean papers with archival digital content as possible.
- World Newspaper Archive - Latin America - A fully searchable collection of historical newspapers from the 19th and early 20th centuries. An extensive Latin American collection is included.
Note: Bold heading indicates a resource primarily addressing Latin American & Caribbean content.
Journal Articles and Abstracts on Latin America:
- Caribbean Abstracts -contains citations & abstracts in English of selected books & articles in the humanities and social sciences published from 1989-2008. Does NOT include Caribbean migrant communities.
- Handbook of Latin American Studies - A bibliography with brief abstracts consisting of scholarly evaluations of selected humanities and social sciences publications in the field of Latin American studies from 1936-Present.
- Hispanic American Periodicals Index - A citation database to articles on Latin America, the Caribbean, the United States-Mexico border region, and Hispanics in the United States from 1970-Present.
- Informe - Contains the full text of popular magazines, academic journals and selected newspaper articles in Spanish from the mid-1990s to Present. Search in Spanish.
- Prisma - (Publicaciones y Revistas Sociales y Humanísticas) provides full-text to scholarly journals for the interdisciplinary study of Latin America & the Caribbean from the 1970s-Present.
- Red ALyC - An open access database of full-text articles from scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences published primarily in Latin American, the Caribbean, and Iberia.Search in Spanish.
- Researching Brazil - An open access database that indexes 80 journals from and about Brazil.
- SciELO - Scientific Electronic Library Online - An open access database of full-text journal articles published in Latin America in the physical and social sciences.
- World Scholar - Latin America & the Caribbean - A collection of primary source documents about Latin America and the Caribbean; full-text of academic journals and news-feeds covering the region; reference articles and commentary; maps, images and statistics; audio and video; and much more.
A series of detailed reviews of these databases can be found in The Charleston Advisor by searching for the author Holly Ackerman
General Databases with Substantial Latin American Content:
Collaboration with UNC-Chapel Hill Library
Duke University and The University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill maintain one of the oldest cooperative acquisitions programs in the country in the area of Latin American Studies. This cooperative collections agreement supports the Consortium in Latin American Studies at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill and Duke University. Both Carolina and Duke acquire core materials from throughout Latin America to support undergraduate study. In addition, both work cooperatively to purchase research-level materials, special formats, and expensive items such as censuses, films, and large documentary microform collections. The following maps and lists illustrate their cooperative collecting. You may want to use the combined Triangle catalog to search for materials particularly for countries where UNC has the major collecting responsibility.
Duke University is primarily responsible for collecting research materials from:
- Brazil (social sciences)
- Central America
- English-speaking Caribbean
UNC-Chapel Hill is primarily responsible for collecting research materials from:
- Brazil (humanities and literature)
- Dominican Republic
- Puerto Rico
Keep these differences in mind as you search either catalog for resources.