First of all, you must have Firefox on your laptop—Zotero is a Firefox plugin at the moment. If you don’t have it already, download it here.
To download Zotero, visit http://www.zotero.org/ and hit the big red button. You’ll need to restart Firefox once you’re finished.
To "cite as you write," add a plugin to Word or Open Office. Restart that program too.
The default preferences are mostly good, but it's helpful to change a few settings:
Open Zotero and click on the "gear" menu, then select "preferences."
* On the General tab, check the box "automatically attach associated PDFs."
* On the Sync tab, Create Account for Zotero server syncing
* On the Search tab, click the bar to Install PDF Indexers
* On the Proxies tab, uncheck "automatically remember proxied resources."
Exporting references from EndNote to Zotero:
Add items two ways: automatically and manually
AUTOMATICALLY from library catalog, library database, many websites with Zotero translators.
Zotero detects – click on icon
Library catalog: single book = book icon; list of books = folder (puts in Zotero, you select which ones you want)
Add PDF: highlight URL, drag and drop. Right click on pdf in library to "retrieve metadata for PDF"
Website: click on “Create New Item from Current Page” blue page icon at bottom
MANUALLY from sites without translator: green plus button – choose type of item
Collections: are sub libraries, separate groups of references – they always continue to be in “My Library” – one item can be in multiple collections
Tags: select items and choose “tags” in right hand column – can use a tag “Need more information” “Need more metadata” for things that you know are incomplete but don’t have time to fix
Notes: select item, right click and choose “add note” – notes are searchable
Search: use the search box at top, or click magnifying glass – if it’s indexed, it’s searchable
Zotero plugin for word processors adds a toolbar to Word (e.g., Add-Ins)
To insert citation, click first toolbar button, "Zotero Insert Citation"
To add bibliography, go to end of your document and click third toolbar button, "Zotero Insert Bibliography"
Zotero references can be dragged and dropped into any document
Syncing: sync with Zotero server, access your library from multiple computers. Server accounts are free (100 mb). Sync can be slow. To sync you need an account:
Creating group library: everyone needs Zotero account. Top left, people icon “New Group”. Invite others to join library.
Portable Firefox: carry your library with you
Use the Wizfolio program to take references from a pre-existing bibliography (such as a Word document) and import them into Zotero. You won't capture all of the bibliographic information, but you'll have them with your other materials in Zotero. To find out how to use Wizfolio, watch this screencast.