Visit the library home page to...
...access your Library Account to see what you have borrowed and renew titles online.
Search the online catalog, find e-books, check out Duke's digital collections of materials from the David M. Rubenstein Rare Book & Manuscript Library.
[Tip: click on the Duke Libraries icon to quickly get back to the homepage.]
Basic Library Tools
Catalog - find resources (other than journal articles) at all Duke Libraries
- Films on Reserve - give call number to staff at Lilly main desk; view in building
- Articles - find full-text online from thousands of individual e-journals OR go to QuickSearch tab to search across hundreds of journals and book chapters at the same time
- Search TRLN - find and request items at UNC-CH, NCSU, NCCU
- Document delivery - borrow a book from another library in the TRLN network or across the country
Getting Started: Reference Sources
American Decades is a 10 volume set which covers twentieth century American social history. The set is arranged chronologically with each volume covering a ten-year period. Each volume begins with a chronology of world events for that particular decade. Topics such as the arts, medicine, religion, education, government and politics, and sports are covered in-depth. All volumes are nicely illustrated. The seventies can be found in volume 8 (also in print, Lilly and Perkins Reference E169.12 A42 1994).
American Decades Primary Sources can be viewed as a companion to the above title. Each volume contains over 100 full-text or excerpted primary source documents. These documents include speeches, articles, diaries, commercials, and newspaper articles. The seventies are covered in volume 8(also in print, Lilly and Perkins Reference E169.1 A4711977 2004).
American Eras is the companion set to American Decades. It takes a broader view, but it does extend coverage back to the 19th century (also in print, Lilly and Perkins Reference E169.1 .A471979 1997).
Encyclopedia of American Culture focuses on the time period from the end of World War II to the end of the century. The entries are signed and include bibliographies. (Lilly and Perkins Reference E169.12 E49 2001)
The Oxford Companion to United States History. Ed. by Paul S. Boyer. New York: Oxford University Press, 2001; print copies Perkins/Bostock and Lilly Reference E174 .O94 2001
History Reference Online is an online collection of hundreds of history reference titles published by ABC-Clio. This is a fantastic resource, which can be browsed by subject categories or full-text searched by keyword. Great resource for background information.
Librarian for Film, Video & Digital Media and Women's Studies