Skip to main content

Writing 101: How did you get so smart?: Getting started

Brainstorming search terms

What search terms will you use to find info related to the news event you've selected? 

 

Class reflection

$$ for your papers!

Want $1000 for your research paper?  Consider submitting it for consideration for the Aptman Prize or Middlesworth Award!

Finding books & media for your research projects

The library catalog lets you search for books, journals, DVDs, music, and research materials that are available in the Duke University Libraries.

When you know exactly what you want:

  • Search the library catalog by title or author of the work (Ex. Mccann, Colum).
  • Use the catalog's advanced search for the most precise searching.

When you are starting a search on a new topic:

  • Use the default keyword search to see what books we have on a particular topic (Ex. civil war).
  • Click on relevant suggested subjects for more focused search results (Ex. united states - history - civil war, 1861-1865).

Looking for even more tips and tricks?  Check out this guide to locating and requesting books and ebooks.

Finding articles for your research projects

EXPERT TIP: Search any combination of PsycInfo, ERIC, Education Full Text and SocINDEX simultaneously by clicking Choose Databases from the initial search screen and then checking the databases you wish to search from the pop-up list.

ALL tab searches articles, books, newspapers and more across hundreds of databases

PsycINFO contains citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, dissertations and technical reports in psychology

ERIC supplies education research supported by U.S. Department of Education; primarily K-12

Education Full Text contains U.S. and international education research; includes research in higher education

SocINDEX with Full Text includes research related to all aspects of sociology

Sociological Abstracts includes international research in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences

LexisNexis Academic provides full-text access to U.S. and international newspapers, radio and television transcripts; 1970s-present

Citing sources

Create a free account in RefWorks or Endnote to manage your citations.

Meet your librarian

Kim Duckett
Contact:
Perkins Library - Research and Instructional Services
919-660-5928