Skip to main content
Western European Studies
Search this Guide
Western European Studies: Recommended Databases
Western European Studies Recommended Databases
Academic Search Complete
Providing indexing and abstracts for over 10,000 publications, including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, and others.
Contains nearly 287,000 journal articles from over 1,000 Italian academic journals covering the humanities and social sciences
Contains the complete text of the collection Trésor de la Langue Française (nearly 2600 texts).
It is a database for German language and literature, literary history and criticism. 1985-present.
Bibliography of British and Irish History
Provides bibliographic data on historical writing dealing with the British Isles, and with the British Empire and Commonwealth - from 55BC to the present.
British Humanities Index
Provides abstracts from over 400 daily newspapers, weekly magazines and academic journals of international standing, with over 240,000 records dating back to 1962
Offers the most comprehensive collection of French and Belgian journals in the humanities and social sciences available online.
DigiZeitschriften: das deutsche digitale Zeitschriftenarchiv
Provides full-text access to German journals and annuals, often covering them in their entirety. Some start in the 1800s.
Provider of Francophone and Canadian peer reviewed journals in North America.
Covers national and international news; use the search builder to identify sources by country.
Covers a wide range of multilingual, multidisciplinary information in the humanities
Gallica: la bibliothèque numérique
Contains full-text books and serials covering the cultural history of France from the Middle Ages to the 19th century.
Provides authoritative, worldwide information about Central and South America, Mexico, the Caribbean basin, the United States-Mexico border region, and Hispanics in the United States.
Covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present.
Indexes international multidisciplinary academic periodical literature in the humanities, social sciences and related fields.
Contains back issues of the core scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and basic sciences with ability to limit results to items in a particular language.
Karlsruher Virtueller Katalog
Allows simultaneous search of the holdings of major libraries in Europe and worldwide; includes used books.
German Literature and German language literature published after 1945; provides bio-bibliographical information for more than 650 authors. 1945 – present
Provides wide range of U.S. and international newspapers, radio and television transcripts.
MLA Int. Bibliography
International coverage of literature, language and linguistics, folklore, literary theory & criticism, dramatic arts, as well as the historical aspects of printing and publishing published from 1926
Oxford Dictionary of National Biography
Biographies of noteworthy people, no longer living, who inhabited or were connected with the British Isles.
Oxford Reference Online
Covers reference works and dictionaries for several European languages.
Periodicals Index Online
Indexes thousands of selected international periodicals in the arts, humanities and social sciences from their first issues to 1995.
Provides full-text scholarly journals in the social sciences and humanities for the interdisciplinary academic study of Hispanic and Latin America, and the Caribbean Basin.
Torrossa (formerly EIO)
Editoria Italiana Online. the full-text platform created by Casalini Libri for current scholarship in Italian Studies
World biographical information system
Contains biographical information on over 6 million people worldwide, from the 8th century BC to present
Recommended Databases for French Studies
Recommended Databases for German Studies
Recommended Databases for Italian Studies
Recommended Databases for Newspapers - Western Europe
Recommended Databases for Primary Sources - Western Europe
Website / Blog Page
Medieval & Renaissance Studies
Western European Studies
Jan 5, 2017 10:47 AM
Login to LibApps
Report a problem.
french and francophone studies
411 Chapel Drive
Durham, NC 27708
Perkins Library Service Desk
Faculty & Instructors
Patrons with Disabilities
Re-use & Attribution
Support the Libraries