This is the "Getting Started" page of the "Vocal Resources" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Vocal Resources  

Last Updated: Oct 11, 2012 URL: http://guides.library.duke.edu/vocal_resources Print Guide RSS Updates
Getting Started Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Vocal Resources

Streaming Audio and Video

Listen to music and watch operas online!

  • Naxos Music Library
    An extensive streaming resource providing online access to over 75,000 discs of classical music, opera, jazz, and world music. It is an excellent place to search for individual songs.
  • Music Online
    Streaming resource specializing in classical music, jazz, American and African-American songs, world, and folk music
  • Naxos Video Library
    Streaming access to nearly 1500 videos, including hundreds of opera performances
  • DRAM (Database of Recorded American Music)
    Streaming database of over 3000 discs with emphasis on independent labels and American music.

Encyclopedias

  • Oxford Music Online
    Online access to The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians (2nd ed.), The New Grove Dictionary of Opera, the New Grove Dictionary of Jazz, and the Encyclopedia of Popular Music.

    Print copies of these dictionaries can also be found on top of the reference shelves in the Music Library.

    Under composer entries, look at the Works List to see a complete list of compositions and where they can be found in composer complete works edition
  • Grove Music Online Opera Incipit Index
    Index of first lines of opera arias, duets, ensembles, and choruses
  • Garland Encyclopedia of World Music Online
    Print edition is on top of Music Reference shelves

Websites for Singers

Transcriptions and Translations

Finding Scores

To find scores in the library catalog,

  • Link to Advanced Search in library catalog: http://search.library.duke.edu/#tab2
  • Choose format Printed Music and enter search terms (composer name can be entered in the Author field)

If you would like to browse vocal music on the shelves, the vocal scores are all located downstairs and begin with the call number M1495 through M2199.

  • Oxford Music Online
    Bring up Works in composer entries to find complete list of works and where they are located in composer complete works editions
  • IPM (Index to Printed Music)
    Online resource to help find music in collections, series, and anthologies.

Finding Recordings

To find recordings in the library catalog,

  • Link to Advanced Search from the Catalog Tab on the library homepage: http://search.library.duke.edu/#tab2
  • Choose format Musical Recordings and enter search terms (composer name can be entered in the Author field)
      

    Finding Videos

    To find videos in the library catalog,

    • Link to Advanced Search from the Catalog Tab on the library homepage: http://search.library.duke.edu/#tab2
    • Choose format Videos and DVDs and enter search terms (composer name can be entered in the Author field)
        

      Subject Guide

      Profile Image
      Laura Williams
      Contact Info
      113 Biddle Music Building
      Box 90661
      (919) 660-5952
      Send Email
      Subjects:
      Music

      What if the score is not at Duke?

      If you don't find the score you need at Duke, it may be available in one of the Triangle Research Libraries, such as UNC or NC State.  If you search Triangle Libraries (click radio button),  you can find and request copies of scores, which will be delivered here to Duke in 2-3 days.

      Document Delivery (ILL) can get copies of scores for you from libraries around the country.  Click on the Document Delivery link to fill out a request form.

      Some Digital Score Sites:

      Description

      Loading  Loading...

      Tip