Skip to main content

Turkish Studies: Getting Started

Noteworthy Article

Recently Added

Can, Kadir.
Çarşı-pazar İstanbul.
İstanbul: İstanbul Ticaret Odası, 2011.
Perkins/Bostock Library HF5474.T92 C36 2011
Check availability @ Duke

Noteworthy Online Links

Historians of the Ottoman Empire (UChicago)

Links (Ottoman & Turkish Studies, UChicago)

Mamluk Bibliography Online (U. of Chicago)

Noteworthy Ottoman Turkish Collection Online

Duke University Libraries: Ottoman Texts on IA
Duke offers a collection of 213 Ottoman Turkish books on the Internet Archive platform. This collection includes not only classical literature but also works of popular fiction, translations of foreign works, dictionaries, religion, and law.

These items are also available for use in Duke's Rubenstein Library.

>> Listing of Ottoman Turkish monographs

Image from:
Emrullah Efendi, 1858-1914. / امر الله افندى، 1858-1914
Yeni muhit ül-maarif / يكى محيط المعارف
Istanbul: Hürriyet Matbaası, استانبول : حريت مطبعه سى1328-1330 1910-1912
Rubenstein Library Library Service Center, Rare Books (Reading Room only)AE75 .E55m 1910 Check availability @ Duke

Reference

Online:

Books:

Atatürk, Kemal, 1881-1938.
Atatürk'ün bütün eserleri.
Beyoğlu, İstanbul: Kaynak Yayınları, 1998-2011.
Library Service Center DR592.K4 A2 1998 v.1-30 Check availability @ Duke
Table of Contents: Cilt 1. 1903-1915 -- cilt 2. 1915-1919 -- cilt 3-5. 1919 -- cilt 6. 1919-1920 -- cilt 7. 1 Mart-22 Nisan 1920 -- cilt 8. 23 Nisan-7/8 Temmuz 1920 -- cilt 9. 8 Temmuz-30 Eylül 1920 -- cilt 10. 1 Ekim 1920-31 Ocak 1921 -- cilt 11. Şubat 1921-Eylül 1921 -- cilt 12. 5 Ekim 1921-5 Mayıs 1922 -- cilt 13. 6 Mayıs 1922-15 Ekim 1922 -- cilt 14. 16 Ekim 1922-27 Ocak 1923 -- cilt 15. 23 Ocak 1923-30 Haziran 1923 -- cilt 17. 18 Eylül 1924-27 Eylül 1925 -- cilt 18. 27 Eylül 1925-12 Ekim 1927 -- cilt 19. Nutuk I, 15 Ekim 1927-20 Ekim 1927 -- cilt 20. Nutuk II, 15 Ekim 1927-20 Ekim 1927 -- cilt 21. Nutuk III, vesikalar -- cilt 22. 19 Ekim 1927-1 Kasım 1929 -- cilt 23. 04/05 Kasım 1929-31 Ağustos 1930 -- cilt 24. Ağustos 1930-25 Ocak 1931 -- cilt 25. 26 Ocak 1931-28 Eylül 1932 -- cilt 26. 2 Ekim 1932-27 Eylül 1934 -- cilt 27. 2 Ekim 1934-1 Kasım 1935 -- cilt 28. 2 Kasım 1935-31 Aralık 1936 -- cilt 29. 1 Ocak 1937-29 Eylül 1937 -- cilt 30. 1 Ekim 1937-10 Kasım 1938.
Çağatay, Ergun and Doğan Kuban.
The Turkic speaking peoples : 2,000 years of art and culture from Inner Asia to the Balkans.
Munich ; New York; The Netherlands: Prestel; Prince Claus Fund Library, 2008.
Lilly Library DS26 .T877 2008 Check availability @ Duke
Gabain, Annemarie von, et al.
Altaistik.
Handbuch der Orientalistik. Erste Abteilung, Nahe und der Mittlere Osten ; 5. Bd.
Leiden: E. J. Brill, 1963-
Perkins/Bostock Library P81.M628 H363 Bd.5 Abschn.1-3, 5 Check availability @ Duke
Table of Contents: 1. Abschnitt. Turkologie, mit Beiträgen von A. von Gabain, et al.--2. Abschnitt. Mongolistik, mit Beiträgen von N. Poppe, et al.--3. Abschnitt. Tungusologie, mit Beiträgen von W. Fuchs, et al.--5. Abschnitt. Geschichte Mittelasiens, mit Beiträgen von K. Jettmar, et al.
Güzel, Hasan Celâl, et al.
The Turks
Ankara : Yeni Türkiye, 2002.
Perkins/Bostock International & Area Studies Reading Room DS26 .T874 2002 6 vols. Check availability @ Duke
İhsanoğlu, Ekmeleddin.
History of the Ottoman state, society & civilisation.
İstanbul: Research Center for Islamic History, Art and Culture, 2001.
Perkins/Bostock Library International & Area Studies Reading Room DR486 .O82513 2001 v.1-2 Check availability @ Duke
İnalcık, Halil.
Ottoman civilization.
Ankara : Republic of Turkey, Ministry of Culture, 2003-2004.
Perkins/Bostock International & Area Studies Reading Room DR486 .O886 2003 2 vols. Check availability @ Duke
v. 1. State, society, economy. Religion and thought. Science and education. Daily life and communications. Genealogy, chronology -- v. 2. Literature. Architecture and fine arts. Performing arts and music. Europe and the Ottomans.
Koçu, Reşad Ekrem.
İstanbul ansiklopedisi.
İstanbul: İstanbul Ansiklopedisi ve Neşriyat Kollektif Şirketi, 1958
Perkins/Bostock Library International & Area Studies Reading Room DR719 .I68 1958 v.1 Check availability @ Duke
Table of Contents: v. 1. Aba, abacılar-Alafranga Baloz.--v. 2. Alageyik sokağa-Aşirefendi Kütübhânesi.--v. 3. Aşiret mektebi-Baba.--v. 4. Baba-Barbunya balığı.--v. 5. Bardakçı sokağı-Berduş.--v. 6. Boğaziçindeki iskele, kayık ve sandalları-Cemil.--v. 7. Cemil Bey-Çiray.--v. 8. Çiroz-Dişbuğdaycılar Sokağı.--v. 9. Dişci-Erişteci Sokağı.--v. 10. Eritmek-Fırın.--v. 11. Fırın-Gökçınar.
Kültür Bakanlığı. Tarih Vakfı.
İstanbul ansiklopedisi : dünden bugüne.
İstanbul: Kültür Bakanlığı. Tarih Vakfı, 1993-1995.
Perkins/Bostock Library International & Area Studies Reading Room AE75 .I883 1993 cilt.1-8 Check availability @ Duke
Menges, Karl Heinrich.
The Turkic languages and peoples : an introduction to Turkic studies.
Wiesbaden: Harrassowitz, 1995.
Perkins/Bostock Library PL21 .M4 1995 Check availability @ Duke
Quataert, Donald.
The Ottoman Empire, 1700-1922.
Cambridge, UK ; New York: Cambrige University Press, 2005.
Perkins/Bostock Library DR542 .Q38 2005 Check availability @ Duke
Türkiye Diyanet Vakfı. İslâm Ansiklopedisi Genel Müdürlüğü.
Türkiye Diyanet Vakfı İslâm ansiklopedisi.
Üsküdar, İstanbul: Türkiye Diyanet Vakfı, İslâm Ansiklopedisi Genel Müdürlüğü, 1988-2013.
Perkins/Bostock Library BP40 .T857 1988 International & Area Studies Reading Room v.1-44 Check availability @ Duke
Table of Contents: cilt 1. Âb-ı hayât-el-Ahkâmü'ş-şerʻiyye -- cilt 2. Ahlâk-Amarı -- cilt 3. Amasya-Âşık mûsikisi -- cilt 4. Âşık Ömer-Bâlâ Külliyesi -- cilt 5. Balaban, Mustafa Rahmi-Beşir Ağa, Moralı -- cilt 6. Beşir Ağa Camii-Câfer Paşa Tekkesi -- cilt 7. Câʻfer es-Sâdık-Ciltçilik -- cilt 8. Cilve-Dârünnedve -- cilt 9. Dârüssaâde-Dulkadıroğulları -- cilt 10. Dûmetülcendel-Elbise -- cilt 11. Elbistan-Eymir -- cilt 12. Eys-Fikhü'l-Hadı̂s -- cilt 13. Fikih-Gelenek -- cilt 14. Gelibolu-Haddesenâ -- cilt 15. Hades-Hanefı̂ Mehmed Efendi -- cilt 16. Hanefı̂ mezhebi-Hayâ -- cilt 17. Hayal-Hilâfiyat -- cilt 18. Hilâl-Hüseyin Lâmekânî -- cilt 19. Hüseyin Mirza-İbn Haldûn -- cilt 20. Haldûn-İbnüʼl-Cezerî -- cilt 21. İbnüʼl-Cezzâr-İhvân-ı Müslimîn -- cilt 22. İhvân-ı Safâ-İskit -- cilt 23. İslâm-Kaade -- cilt 24. Kāânî-i-Şîrâzî-Kastamonu -- cilt 25. Kastilya-Kile -- cilt 26. Kili-Kütahya -- cilt 27. Kütahya! Mevlevîhânesi-Manisa -- cilt 28. Manisa Mevlevîhânesi-Meks -- cilt 29. Mekteb-Mısır Mevlevîhânesi -- cilt 30. Mısra-Muhammediyye -- cilt 31. Muhammediyye-Münâzara -- cilt 32. el-Müncid-Nesih -- cilt. 33. Nesih-Osmanlılar -- cilt. 34. Osmanpazarı-Resuldar -- cilt. 35. Resuliler-Sak -- cilt. 36. Sakal-Sevm -- cilt. 37. Sevr antlaşması-Suveylih -- clit. 38. Suyolcu-Şerîf en-Nîsâbûrî -- cilt. 39. Şerîf Paşa-Tanzanya -- cilt. 40. Tanzïmat-Teveccüh -- cilt. 41. Tevekkül-Tüsterî -- cilt. 42. Tütün-Vehrân -- cilt 43. Vekâlet-Yûsî -- cilt 44. Yûsuf-Zwemer, Samuel Marinus

Subject Librarian

Sean Swanick
Contact:
(9190 660-5850
Social:Twitter Page

Turkish Studies at Duke

On the Internet

İslam Araştimaları Merkezi
The Islamic Studies Centre in Üsküdar offers three online collections of Ottoman printed materials in facsimile images:1) Salnâmeler: the official yearbooks, important sources of statistical and other information on all the Ottoman provinces. Over 520 are available here; 2) Osmanlıca Risaleler: over 2400 pamphlets or “treatises” in Ottoman Turkish, mainly on political, religious and educational subjects; 3) Osmanlıca Makaleler: articles from 20 Ottoman Turkish periodicals. The facsimiles are provided as PDF files.
Milli Kütüphane: Süreli Yayınlar Bilgi Sistemi
This database of Ottoman newspapers and periodicals is maintained by the Turkish National Library in Ankara. It contains full-text images of a wide range of serials from 1840 (Ceride-i Havadis) to 1928.