CULANTH 301: Theoretical Foundations: Getting Started

• Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy [electronic]
  Online version of the 10-volume Routledge encyclopedia of philosophy.

• International Encyclopedia of the Social Sciences [electronic]
  Open the eTable of Contents to find a list of the entries relevant to cultural anthropology.

• Encyclopedia of Anthropology [electronic]
  Covers cultural anthropology

• Encyclopedia of Cultural Anthropology  [print]
  Sponsored by the Human Relations Area Files at Yale University

• Encyclopedia of Social and Cultural Anthropology [print]
  Brief essays on the discipline + a glossary

These print books in the Reference Collection are great starting points for research:

• Biographical Dictionary of Social and Cultural Anthropology
  Covers the life and work of some 600 key men and women.

• Dictionary of Anthropology
  Focuses on key concepts, theories, and methodologies of social and cultural anthropology.

• Dictionary of Concepts in Cultural Anthropology
  Describes the major concepts that historically and theoretically shaped the discipline of cultural anthropology.

• Social and Cultural Anthropology: the Key Concepts
  Essays written on key concepts in contemporary anthropological studies.

• Invisible genealogies: A history of Americanist anthropology
  Offers a vision of the development of anthropology in North America that emphasizes continuity rather than discontinuity from legendary founder Franz Boas to the present.

• Anthropological theory: An introductory history
  Writings from key anthropologists, both the historically significant (Malinowski and Benedict) and the contemporary (Abu-Lughod and Bourgois) to explain issues and theory.

• Anthropology in theory: Issues in epistemology
  An overview of the key debates in anthropological theory over the past century.

• Anthropology: Theoretical practice in culture and society
  Offers a vision of how anthropology - a discipline that operates through intimate knowledge of local societies - can offer vastly increased understanding of society and culture even in this age of mass communication.

• Wiley-Blackwell companion to major social theorists
  Includes essays (averaging 20 to 40 pages in length) on historical figures and contemporary social theorists (including Baudrillard, Bourdieu and Butler).

• Fifty key anthropologists
  Surveys the life and work of some of the most influential figures in anthropology.