Theology and the Arts

Foundational TITLES in theology and the arts
Art and the Beauty of God The Glory of the Lord: A Theological Aesthetic TOWARD A THEOLOGY OF BEAUTY: AN INTRODUCTION TO THEOLOGICAL AESTHETICS Religious Aesthetics: A Theological Study of Making & Meaning The Art of God Incarnate Art in Action: toward a Christian Aesthetic VOICING CREATIONS PRAISE: TOWARDS A THEOLOGY OF THE ARTS Theological Aesthetics: God in Imagination, Beauty and Art SACRED AND PROFANE BEAUTY:THE HOLY IN ART Imagining God: Theology and the Religious Imagination The Beauty of God: Theology and the Arts
Theology OF the Arts
Religious Aesthetics: A Theological Study of Making and Meaning, Frank Burch Brown
Voicing Creation's Praise: Toward a Theology of the Arts, Jeremy Begbie
Sacred Art, M.A. Couturier
Art, Creativity and the Sacred: An Anthology in Religion and Art, edited by Diane Apostolos-Cappadona
Reformed Theology and Visual Culture: The Protestant Imagination from Calvin to Edwards, William Dyrness
Real Presences, George Steiner
Art and Scholasticism, and the Frontier of Poetry, Jacques Maritain
Theology THROUGH the Arts
Theology, Music and Time, Jeremy Begbie
The Image of Christ, Gabriele Finaldi
Screen Christologies: Redemption and the Medium of Film, Christopher Deacy
Reading is Believing: The Christian Faith Through Literature and Film, David S. Cunningham
Painting the Word: Christian Pictures and Their Meaning, John Drury
Seeing Salvation: Images of Christ in Art, Neil MacGregor and Erika Langmuir
Reference Resources
A bibliography of sources in Christianity and the arts, Daven Michael Kari
Medieval Art: a topical dictionary, Leslie Ross
Bibliography of the History of Art [extends the coverage of its two predecessor art indexes: RAA (Repertoire d'Art et d'Archeologie) from 1973 to 1989 and RILA (International Repertory of the Literature of Art) from 1975 to 1989]
Medieval iconography : a research guide, John Block Friedman
Lexikon der Christlichen Weltliteratur, Gisbert Kranz
Dictionnaire des Arts Liturgiques: XIXe-XXe Siècle, Bernard Berthod, Elisabeth Hardouin-Fugier ; dessins de Camille Déprez
Benét's reader's encyclopedia, edited by Bruce Murphy
Kunst und Liturgie der Ostkirche in Stichworten unter Berücksichtigung der Alten Kirche - Konrad Onasch
Theological, Philosophical and Artistic Underpinings
Systematic Theology, Paul Tillich
Symbolism in Religion and Literature, ed. by Rollo May
The Religious Situation, Paul Tillich (tr. by H. Richard Niebuhr)
Poetic Diction: A Study in Meaning, Owen Barfield
Creative Intuition in Art and Poetry, Jacques Maritain
Solitude and Society, Nicolas Berdyaev (tr. by George Reavey)
Truth and Revelation, Nicolas Berdyaev, (tr. by R.M. French)
Poetics of Music in the Form of Six Lessons, Igor Stravinsky (tr. by Arthur Knodell and Ingolf Dahl)
Art and Scholasticism, Jacques Maritain
Painting and Reality, Etienne Gilson
The Rebel, Albert Camus
Christ and Culture, H. Richard Niebuhr
Christ and Adam, Karl Barth
Visual Studies Librarian |
Links: Profile & Guides |
DITA
Duke Initiatives in Theology and the Arts (DITA), 'a vibrant engagement of Christian Theology and the Arts at Duke Divinity School and beyond'
Library Catalogs
Duke Catalog - Includes books, DVD's, e-books and Special Collections material
TRLN - Combined Duke, NCCU, UNC and NCState library catalogs
WorldCat - Every library combined into enmormus searchable dataabase. Shows Duke's holdings
Rare Book Manuscript and Special Collections Library - Direct link to RBMSCL
National Art Library Catalog, (located in the Victoria and Albert Museum)
"Christianity and the Arts"
Loading...








Loading...
