Skip to main content

Rel 116S: Tibetan Buddhism: Research guide on Tibetan Buddhism

Key Reference Titles

Digital Dictionary of BuddhismA compilation of Buddhist terms, texts, temple, schools, persons, etc., found in Buddhist canonical sources.

Encyclopedia of Buddhism: Ref BQ128 .E62 2004 in Divinity

Encyclopedia of Buddhism: Ref  BQ128 .E53 2007 in Divinity

Find Books in the Catalog

Searches in the Duke's library catalog. The subject terms could also be used to search other library catalogs including Worldcat.

Journals & Databases

Journals:

Databases:

  • Bibliography of Asian Studies is the main English language database on Asian Studies
  • ATLA Religion Database
    Coverage dates back to 1949. Indexes international periodicals in the fields of religion and theological studies. Areas covered include Biblical studies, world religions (including Buddhism, Christianity and all its denominations, Confucianism, Hinduism, Islam, Judaism, and others), church history, and religious perspectives on social issues.
  • Historical abstracts (History)
  • Political Science Complete(Politics)

See also: Asian Studies databases

      Internet Resources

      • Tibetan and Himalayan Library: consists of a wide array of collaborating scholars, institutions and communities.
      • Digital Himalaya Five ethnographic collections representing a broad range of regions, ethnic groups, time periods and themes were slated for digitisation in the first phase of the project, along with a set of maps of Nepal and important journals on Himalayan studies.
      • China Tibetology Network: from China Tibetology Research Center, which was founded in Beijing in 1986 as a national organization for Tibetan studies.
      • Central Tibetan Administration:  Tibet in Exile.
      • Dalai Lama: offcial site of His Holiness the 14th Dalai Lama, Tenzin Gyatso.
      • Listserv: The AAS-Tibet mailing list is for communication among people interested in developing Tibetan Studies within the Association of Asian Studies (AAS) conference in the US. Apply to register at:https://list.mail.virginia.edu/mailman/listinfo/aastibet

      Subject Librarian for China

      Luo Zhou
      Contact:
      Office: Bostock 229

      Tel: 919-660-5803

      Office hour: Friday 1-3pm @ Bostock 229 or send me an email to set up a consultation.