Skip to main content

Twentieth Century South African History through Biography: Getting Started

course guide

Background information


  • Academic Search Premier
    Good general database for articles.
  • ATLA Religion Database

    Excellent coverage of the church in South Africa.
  •  Art Full Text
    Art Full Text is a bibliographic database that indexes and abstracts articles from periodicals published throughout the world. Full-text coverage for selected periodicals is also included.
  • RILM Abstracts of Music Literature
    RILM offers broad international coverage base. It includes music related works from articles, books, bibliographies,
  • Africa-Wide Information
    Provides multi-disciplinary coverage about Africa.
    Indexes Africana journal literature, and Africa Women's Studies.
  • - Africa News Online 
    Provides an extensive range of news services on Africa.
  • Historical Abstracts
    History of all countries except the US and Canada since 1450.  Includes articles and books.
  • Dissertations and Theses: Full Text
  • Ethnic Newswatch
    Full text of articles from newspapers and newsletters published by minority groups in the U.S.  back to 1960.
  • Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals
  • Lexis Nexis Academic
    For recent South African newspaper articles and legal information.  Go to Sources/Countries/South Africa
  • MLA
    Covers literature and writers.
  • PAIS
    For articles, government documents and NGO reports.
  • SportDiscus
    Indexes book and article literature on sport from 1949 to the present. 
  • Women's Studies International


Your Librarian

Carson Holloway
Librarian for Military History, History of Science and Technology, Britain, Ireland and Commonwealth

Perkins and Lilly Libraries



Locating articles

Found an article? Click on Get it @ Duke to locate the full-text for items you find in the databases. A box will pop up and tell you if the item is available online or in print.

Need help using Get it @ Duke? Check out this short tutorial (2 min).

Not available through Duke? Request it (free!) from another library using Document Delivery.