Skip to main content

Human Rights & Memory in Latin America HIST 190S.01 Prof. Bryan Pitts: Archives & Primary Documents

Databases of Primary Documents (Duke ID required)

AccessUN - Provides access to current and retrospective United Nations documents and some publications.

Declassified Documents Reference System -  Contains declassified material from U.S. government sources since WWII. 

National Security Archive - Contains the full text more than 35,000 declassified documents involving U.S. foreign and military policy since 1945. Includes specific collections on: Argentina, Chile, Colombia, Cuba, El Salvador, Guatemala, Nicaragua, Perú.

Official Documents of the United Nations - Full text of all UN documents, including resolutions and decisions, issued at UN Headquarters in New York and the UN Office at Geneva since 1993, with selected earlier coverage.

World Newspaper Archive - Latin America  - A fully searchable collection of historical newspapers from around the globe. The Latin American Newspapers include more than 35 nineteenth- and twentieth-century Latin American newspapers (featuring titles from Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Cuba, Guatemala, Mexico, Peru, Venezuela, and elsewhere).  

World Scholar - Latin America & the Caribbean - A collection of primary source documents about Latin America and the Caribbean; academic journals and news-feeds covering the region; reference articles and commentary; maps and statistics; audio and video.

Freely Available Digital Archives On the Internet

Argentina - Memoria Abierta  - Memoria Abierta is a cooperative group of human rights organization whose primary objective is to make accessible all documentation regarding the last military dictatorship in Argentina for the purposes of research and the education of future generations.

Argentina - Museo de La Memoria in Rosario contains a Digital Island that has primary documents on state terrorism in Rosario.

Chile - Museo de la Memoria y de los Derechos Humanos  The Museum maintains  a growing collection of digital objects, testimonies and documents related to the military dictatorship of Pinochet. 

Duke Human Rights Archive  The Human Rights Archive is part of the David M. Rubenstein Rare Book & Manuscript Library.  Its mission is to identify, collect, and provide access to materials generated by organizations and individuals working within and having significant impact on the field of human rights. The archive is a key component of Duke University's commitment to social justice, social equality, and social responsibility. It contains several collections from Latin America and the Caribbean. See especially the Marshall Meyer Digital Collection containing material on Argentina and the online exhibit featuring portions of the Marshall Meyer Collection.

Guatemala  - Digital Archive of the Guatemalan National Police Historical Archive  Located at the University of Texas Austin the digital archive contains information about police violations of human rights in Guatemala. See all the collections at the UT Austin Human Rights Documentation Initiative.

Human Rights Web Archive at Columbia University is a searchable collection of archived copies of human rights websites created by non-governmental organizations, national human rights institutions, tribunals and individuals. Collecting began in 2008 and has been ongoing for active websites.

Latin American Government Archives - A project of the U. of Texas that includes selected documents from the Presidents and ministries of 18 Latin American Countries.

U.N. High Commissioner for Human Rights Treaty Bodies Database
This database of reports, comments and observations from bodies established to monitor the principal international human rights treaties Including the Human Rights Committee, the Committee on Economic, Social and Cultural Rights, the Committee against Torture, the Committee on the Elimination of Racial Discrimination, the Committee on the Elimination of Discrimination against Women and the Committee on the Rights of the Child.

U.S. Institute of Peace Truth Commissions Digital Collection - The collection contains profiles of truth commissions and substantive bodies of inquiry from nations worldwide - offering general background information on the composition of each body, links to the official legislative texts establishing such commissions, and each commission's final reports and findings.

Microfilm Collections of Primary Documents

The Center for Research Libraries (CRL) In addition to making foreign newspapers available on microfilm and, more recently, in the database World Newspaper Archive, CRL has sponsored digitization of Latin American and Caribbean materials on Human Rights. See a list of their projects here.

The Princeton University Latin American Microfilm Collection is organized by County and by Subject. The Duke Libraries and the UNC Chapel Hill Libraries collaborate to purchase the entire collection. Therefore,  it is best to search for this material using the TRLN catalog (a combined catalog of Duke, NCCU, NCSU and UNC holdings).  A listing of the reels on Human Rights can be found here.   A guide to the entire collection can be found here.

Brazil’s Popular Groups 1966-1986  – The Duke Libraries and the UNC Chapel Hill Libraries collaborate to purchase the entire microfilm collection. Therefore,  it is best to search for this material using the TRLN catalog (a combined catalog of Duke, NCCU, NCSU and UNC holdings). Duke Libraries provides access to this series both on microfilm and as a digital archive within the database World Scholar Latin America & the Caribbean.

Chile's Museo de la Memoria