Skip to main content

Revolution and Terror: Getting Started

TIP Class

Background Information

History Reference Online
E-book versions of Encyclopedias, etc.

Revolutionary Movements in World History
(see especially A-Z Entries for ideas on topics)

Oxford Reference Online
More Reference E-books.

Library Subject Pages
Guides compiled by Library Specialists.

Britannica Online  
Encyclopedia Britannica, Britannica Book of the Year and Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary.

Greenwood Digital Collection
The Greenwood Digital Collection contains approximately 3,000 reference, academic and general interest e-books, including:

Daily Life during the American Revolution

Daily Life during the French Revolution

Articles

Historical Abstracts
Covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present.  Be sure to limit to English language.

America: History and Life
Covers the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present.

Academic Search Premier
Academic Search Premier is a scholarly, full text database.

JSTOR
A database of archived issues of academic journals.

Google Scholar
Searches scholarly books and journal articles.

Lexis/Nexis
For recent newspaper articles.

Your Librarian

Carson Holloway
Contact:
Librarian for Military History, History of Science and Technology, Britain, Ireland and Commonwealth



Perkins and Lilly Libraries

919-660-5997

email: carson.holloway@duke.edu

Suggested keywords

Terrorism

Political violence

Civil war

History

Politics and government