Skip to main content

Modern Regulatory State: Databases, Newspapers, Organizations

Course Guide History 365D


This Guide provides general information about resources in the Duke University Libraries. For additional information please contact Carson.

Research Databases

These are the most appropriate indexes to  literature about the state and regulations:

  • PAIS International     Excellent resource for political and public policy research. Indexes scholarly materials.
  • ABI Inform  Trade and business literature.
  • ECONLit  This is THE index to economics literature. 
  • LexisNexis Academic
    • Full text coverage of major general periodicals and newspapers.  Includes polls under the "Reference" menu selection
  • Political Science Complete
    Covers the core Political Science journals and many other materials.
  • IEngineering Village
    • EV links to multiple engineering literature from a range of trusted sources: scholarly journals, trade publications, patents, government reports, reference books and conference proceedings. INSPEC is of particular interest to computer scientists and is searched through EV. This database may be useful in looking for information on specific regulations and regulatory activities.
  • Web of Science
    Comprehensive multidisciplinary database across many social science,  scientific and engineering disciplines. This is the database to discover who is citing whom; covers core journals, conferences in the disciplines covered.
    LAW  Databases:
          For some topics specialized  databases may be useful-  here is the link to Law Guides
    I like to check  the database Hein Online for regulations, law review articles and historical material.


America's Historical Newspapers, comprised of U.S. historical newspapers published between 1690 and 1922, including titles from all 50 states.

ProQuest Historical Newspapers:
Searches newspapers simultaneously or individually: Atlanta Constitution (1868-1939), Atlanta Daily World (1932-2003), Chicago Defender (1905-1975), Los Angeles Times (1881-1986), New York Times  (1851-2004), Wall Street Journal (1889-1990), and the Washington Post (1877-1991). Also includes The Guardian (1821-2003) and The Observer (1791-2003); The Times of India (1838-2001).

The Historical New York Times.

Wall Street Journal, 1889-1989  The Wall Street Journal (1889-1989) offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue.

Lexis Nexis Academic
Provides the full text of over 6,000 sources including newspapers, journals, news wire services, newsletters, campus publications, company reports, case law, government documents, trade publications, broadcast transcripts, and selected reference works. Some sources go back to the 1970s, but most to the 1980s or 1990s.  International coverage is provided.

For newspapers from other countries see the appropriate Area Studies Subject Guide    or these suggestions:

  •   19th Century British Library Newspapers
    The 19th Century British Library Newspapers collection contains full runs of newspapers specially selected by the British Library - includes national and regional newspapers.
  • Times digital archive 1785-1985 Search The Times (London) in full-text; provides facsimile reproductions of full pages or specific articles. Provides the entire newspaper including all advertisements and illustrations.
  • Guardian and The Observer  The Guardian (1821-2003) and its sister paper, The Observer (1791-2003)


Don't forget the Catalog or Worldcat and PAIS for online and printed resources but these are the relevant agency web pages:

National Transportation Safety Board

Chemical Safety Board

OECD    Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development

Your Librarian

Carson Holloway
Librarian for Military History, History of Science and Technology, Britain, Ireland and Commonwealth

Perkins and Lilly Libraries