Skip to main content
Search this Guide
Religion: Recommended Databases
EXPERT TIP: For a more comprehensive list of resources see the
Religion Research Guide.
ATLA religion database
Best starting point for research on all aspects of religion and theology. Covers Buddhism, Christianity and all its denominations, Confucianism, Hinduism, Islam, Taoism, Judaism, and others.
Bibliography of Asian studies
Covers literature on subjects (including religion) pertaining to East, Southeast, and South Asia published worldwide from 1971 to the present.
Catholic periodical and literature index
Covers literature published in Roman Catholic periodicals, Papal documents, church promulgations, and books about the Catholic faith.
Covers scholarly literature on Islam, the Middle East and the Muslim world.
Index to Jewish periodicals
Covers scholarly literature on Jewish history, activity, and thought in English-language journals.
Oxford bibliographies online
Provides peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies on subject areas of
Renaissance and Reformation
Oxford Islamic studies online
Provides over 3,000 A-Z reference entries, biographies, chapters from scholarly and introductory works, Qur'anic materials, primary sources, images, and timelines.
Primary Source Databases
Digital library of classic Protestant texts
Contains primary texts, facsimiles, and selected English translations of an extensive range of seminal works from the Reformation and post-Reformation eras.
Contains classic scholarly editions of the complete works of selected philosophers and theologians including Aquinas, Calvin, and Luther's Sermons.
Thesaurus Linguae Graecae (TLG)
Full-text database of almost all Greek texts in critical editions of the original Greek from the 8th century BCE through 1453 CE.
Aggregates religious data from a wide variety of sources, covering all subjects, from congregational statistics to religious profiles for countries worldwide.
World Christian database
Includes detailed statistical information on 9,000 Christian denominations and religions worldwide.
Earth & Ocean Science
Aug 5, 2016 8:15 AM
Login to LibApps
Report a problem.
411 Chapel Drive
Durham, NC 27708
Perkins Library Service Desk
Faculty & Instructors
Patrons with Disabilities
Re-use & Attribution
Support the Libraries