Skip to main content
Search this Guide
Dance: Recommended Databases
EXPERT TIP: See also the Research Guides in "Dance"
International Encyclopedia of Dance
Scholarly Encyclopedia for Dance. Signed articles by authorities in the field, bibliography, images.
International Index to Performing Arts (IIPA)
Primary source for Dance journal articles. Includes all performance subjects, especially dance.
Garland Encyclopedia of World Music Online
World Musics source that includes Dance topics and history
Oxford Music Online
As music is so integrally related to dance, a powerful dance encyclopedia that includes dance topics.
Full-text access to U.S. and international newspapers, radio and television transcripts; 1980s-present. Excellent for art and performance reviews, choreography critiques and dance items.
Primary citation index for articles on 19th- 20th- and 21st century art, including dance where it is peformance art.
Oxford Art Online
Scholarly art encyclopedia. Potentially helpful for dance were it intersects with art.
Arts & Humanties Search (Web of Knowledge)
Immense database of citations (only) from humanitie sources. Unique in that it allows searching by article cited in a footnote. More difficult to use than other databases.
Website / Blog Page
Art, Architecture & Photography
Aug 19, 2016 3:35 PM
Login to LibApps
Report a problem.
411 Chapel Drive
Durham, NC 27708
Perkins Library Service Desk
Faculty & Instructors
Patrons with Disabilities
Re-use & Attribution
Support the Libraries