Arts & Humanities, General: Recommended Databases

Includes multidisciplinary coverage from 1980 to the present for most journals. It also contains hundreds of podcasts and transcripts from NPR, CNN, and the CBC.

A comprehensive online guide to book reviews with over five million review citations from thousands of publications including newspapers, journals, and general interest publications. Excellent source for scholarly reviews of books.

Includes millions of searchable citations to dissertation and theses from around the world from 1861 to the present day together with over a million full text dissertations that are available for download in PDF format.

Cites essays and articles contained in collections of essays and miscellaneous works published in the United States, Great Britain, and Canada, providing full bibliographic information on collective titles indexed.

With coverage from 1984-present, FRANCIS is strong in religion, the history of art, psychology, and literature, with particular emphasis on current trends in European and world literature.

Includes all data from Humanities International Index, formerly the American Humanities Index. Strongest coverage in literature, especially literary "little magazines," but includes journals in philosophy, theater, film, history, cultural and ethnic studies, archeology, music, dance, and multidisciplinary humanities topics.

A broad range of subject coverage in the humanities and social sciences with indexing of more than 1,300,000 articles in nearly 1,100 periodicals, dating as far back as 1907, as well as citations of over 240,000 book reviews.

Indexing and abstracts academic and professional publications covering the arts and humanities, social science, and natural sciences with limited full text available. Note: Duke users do not have access to every source indexed in Ingenta.

Covers a broad spectrum of the arts & entertainment industry including dance, film, television, drama, theater, stagecraft, musical theater, broadcast arts, opera, & more. Does not cover books or monographs in this field.

Provides PDFs of core scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and basic sciences from the earliest issues to within a few years of current publication. Bbrowse by journal title or discipline, or search full-text or citations/abstracts.

Indexes selected periodicals in the arts, humanities and social sciences from their first issues to 1995. Includes the complete table of contents for each issue of each journal. A good source for book reviews, especially reviews before 1980 (limit to "book reviews").

A database of e-journals published by various university presses, including the Duke University Press. Disciplines covered are humanities, social sciences, and mathematics. A brief bibliographic description of each title is given.

Provides access to: Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975-present), Social Science & Humanities (1990-present). Search current and retrospective multidisciplinary information as well as perform cited reference searching.