Skip to main content

AMES181: LANGUAGE AND SOCIETY: Getting Started/主页

Top Databases/主要数据库

Databases that have resources on China are available in English or bilingual. Depending on the topic you're searching, you can often start with Bibliography of Asian Studies and combine with a relevant subject database

Key Chinese Databases:

  • China academic journals(中国知网): 包括中国大陆出版的人文社会科学期刊1719种,可以全文搜索,文章可以全文下载。
  • People's Daily(人民日报):包括这份报纸1946年第一期起的所有文章,每日更新,全文检索。
  • WiseSearch 慧科搜索 (Chinese, interface can be in English)
    WiseNews, the News archive, is updated every day with items from over 1,600 content providers, including all 18 Chinese and English newspapers of Hong Kong, and a large number of other top-tier newspapers, magazines, newswires, TV and radio broadcasts of Mainland, Taiwan and some Asia Pacific countries
  • Duxiu (Chinese)
    DuXiu Knowledge Base is an online collection of more than 3 million digitized books published in the People's Republic of China. Users can request the full text of some books using the interlibrary loan system embedded in the DuXiu scholar search engine.

See also: Chinese Studies Databases

Database Search Tips/数据库搜索须知

Click on Databases from the Libraries homepage. Enter database name (see below for starting points), or click Find Databases by Subject.

Click on Get it @ Duke to locate the full-text for items you find in the databases. A box will pop up and tell you if the item is available online or in print.

Not available through Duke? Request it from another library using Interlibrary Loan.

Need help using Get it @ Duke? Check out this short tutorial (2 min)

Off-campus access to E-materials

Subject Librarian for China

Luo Zhou
Office: Bostock 229

Tel: 919-660-5803

Office hour: Friday 1-3pm @ Bostock 229 or send me an email to set up a consultation.