Skip to main content

PUBPOL 890: Public & Private Sectors in Policymaking: Getting Started

Prof. Tana Johnson

Academic Articles

Political Science Complete
The place to start for Poltical Science and Public Policy journal articles. Top-ranked scholarly journals, recent reference works, and professional conference papers. Covers law and legislation, comparative politics, political theory, international relations, humanitarian issues, and non-governmental organizations.

ProQuest Political Science
Covers political science and international relations, including comparative politics, political economy, international development, and environmental policy, with full-text of many core titles indexed in Worldwide Political Science Abstracts.
Some overlap with PS Complete; also some unique content.

PAIS
Indexes the social sciences with emphasis on contemporary worldwide social, economic and political issues, and public policy. Covers journals, books, some government publications.

CIAO
Journal articles, working papers, policy briefs, and books on international affairs

EconLit with Full Text
Index of academic literature as far back as 1886 and often including the full text

Search Think Tanks & Research Institutes

Think Tank Search
From Harvard's Kennedy School of Government library; custom Google search + list of hundreds of US and international think tanks

Think tanks are defined by the above as institutions affiliated with universities, governments, advocacy groups, foundations, non-governmental organizations, and businesses that generate public policy research, analysis, and activity. 

Tips: Search these selected think tanks by keywords to find research and analysis.
If one seems most relevant to your topic, go to the home page and mine the site for publications, issues, research, and links to other organizations.

Political orientation of think tanks, per FAIR.org (2009)

Global Go To Think Tank Index with rankings

Subject Guide

Ryan Denniston
Contact:
ryan.denniston@duke.edu

Perkins 233
PO Box 90175
Durham, NC 27708
919-660-5876
Website / Blog PageSkype Contact

Google Scholar

Google Scholar limits your results to academic resources.

tip:  To get the link when using Google Scholar off campus, go to Scholar Settings and choose Duke from Library Links.

You can also set your preferred citation tool (Endnote, Refworks) in Scholar Settings for one-click citation export.