Skip to main content

PUBPOL 790.12 Development, Security and Violence: Begin Here

Prof. Mirovitskaya

Reference Resources for Background

Save time by first getting a thorough overview of the issue. Look in these reference sources for key terms, people, places, dates, events--and of course for related sources in their bibliographies.


Reference Books  Look for these in the library catalog (from the library portal)

Atlas of Global Issues (World Bank)
Encyclopedia of Globalization
Encyclopedia of International Relations and Global Politics
Encyclopedia of World Poverty
World at Risk: A Global Issues Sourcebook (CQ)

Google Scholar

Google Scholar limits your results to academic resources.

tip:  To get the link when using Google Scholar off campus, go to Scholar Preferences and choose Duke from Library Links.

Perkins Library in summer

Library buildings hours

The Perkins Research Consultation (Reference) desk and AskUs IM assistance will be staffed:

Monday-Friday 9am-5pm
Saturday-Sunday 1-5pm
No Saturday-Sunday hours during the interims between terms

Catherine Shreve will be out of the office, but you may consult with other subject librarians.

Writing and Citing

Prof. Mirovitskaya's document links to guidelines for writing papers, citing sources, and avoiding plagiarism.

See also Duke Libraries' site: Citing Sources

Suggested Library Databases

For academic articles and reports:

For economic and business articles and reports:

For news and analysis:

For data, see the Statistics tab of this guide.

How to choose a database (2 minute video tutorial)

How to use GetIt@Duke to get the full text of an article (2 minute video tutorial)

Search strategies

Search by Subject Headings, also called DESCRIPTORS in some databases. These terms ensure that your search is relevant.

Try the following terms in the catalog and databases.
Use them alone or combined with keywords using AND in between the terms (example: poverty AND globalization)

  • globalization (see also: anti-globalization movement)
  • cultural identity; ethnic identity; race identity
  • international cooperation
  • international trade
  • migration, internal; emigration and immigration
  • social policy
  • sustainable development

Keywords: Use * as a truncation symbol: it tells the database to search for any variation that follows the beginning of the word. So, migrat* will find results with 'migrate,' 'migration,' or 'migrated.'