LibGuides: Open Access Resources in Religious & Theological Studies: Getting Started

About This Guide

This guide provides a list of major open access resources for the study of religion and theology.

Naive drawing in the style of of an ancient map of Jerusalem [Image Credit].

Are you a Duke Alumni? Check out this page on Alumni resources.

Open Books
This page highlights some of the major digital libraries where you can read and download free books online.
Open Journals
This page lists some suggested sites for finding free journal articles on religious and theological topics.
Art & Images
This page lists links to image collections and indexes.
Primary Sources
There are many resources for reading sacred texts online. On this page you will find some selected websites for study of the sacred texts of major religious traditions. Includes a sub-page on digital sacred texts online.
Data & Statistics
This page highlights numerous organizations and studies that gather and disseminate religious data and statistics.
Research Tools
This page lists a few selected research tools for organizing your research in religious studies. Includes links to Bible and Quran search engines.

ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials This link opens in a new window
Search for academic journal articles, essays, and book reviews on major world religions. Includes Catholic Periodical and Literature Index

Atla keeps the most current & up-to-date index of websites and e-resources of relevance to research in religion and theology.

Websites on Religion: Atla LibGuide
A selective, annotated guide to a wide variety of e-resources of interest to those who are involved in religious studies. Includes websites, bibliographies, liturgies, reference resources, and software.