Skip to Main Content

Marine Science

Key Article Databases

Earth, Atmospheric & Aquatic Science Collection (ASFA) This link opens in a new window
Search for articles from scholarly journals, trade journals and magazines about fresh water and marine systems. Includes Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts (ASFA)
BioOne Complete This link opens in a new window
Search for journal articles in biology, ecology and environmental science
Environment Complete This link opens in a new window
Searches for journal articles and books in the areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, and energy
GeoRef This link opens in a new window
Search for earth science journal articles and U.S. Geological Survey publications
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Search peer-reviewed literature, including scientific journals, books and conference proceedings.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Search for articles from scholarly journals in all areas of research
Zoological Record This link opens in a new window
Search for articles on all all aspects of zoological research dating back to 1864

Explore Topical Bibliographies

Oxford Bibliographies: Environmental Science This link opens in a new window
Oxford Bibliographies: Ecology This link opens in a new window
Oxford Bibliographies: Evolutionary Biology This link opens in a new window
Oxford Bibliographies: Geography This link opens in a new window
Search peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies in Geography.

Finding Background Information

Access Science @ McGraw-Hill Full access to over 8,500 articles, 110,000+ dictionary terms, and hundreds of research updates in all areas of science and technology.
Dissertations & Theses: Full Text
Encyclopedia of Life Sciences is "a monthly-updating reference work containing over 4,800 specially commissioned, peer-reviewed and citable articles written by leaders in the field. It offers comprehensive and authoritative coverage of the life sciences...."
Oxford Reference Online: Science delivers access to numerous "subject reference works from one of the world's biggest and most trusted reference publishers into a single cross-searchable resource."
Science In Context Search for contextual information on significant science topics. Includes videos, images, articles, news, and encyclopedia entries for each topic.

Encyclopedia of Animal Behavior by Michael D. Breed (Editor-In-Chief); Janice Moore (Editor-In-Chief); Jae C. Choe
Publication Date: 2010
"This comprehensive work covers not only topics such as communication, learning, sexual selection, and the history of the field, but also emerging topics on cognition, animal welfare, conservation, and applications of animal behavior."
Encyclopedia of Biodiversity by Simon Levin (Editor-In-Chief)
Publication Date: 2013
"Brings together, for the first time, a study of the dimensions of diversity...Major themes of the work include the evolution of biodiversity, systems for classifying and defining biodiversity, ecological patterns and theories of biodiversity, and an assessment of contemporary patterns and trends in biodiversity."
Encyclopedia of Coastal Science by Charles W. Finkl (Editor); Christopher Makowski (Editor)
ISBN: 9783319938073
Publication Date: 2019-07-01
Encyclopedia of Estuaries by Michael J. Kennish (Editor); Daniel Alongi (Editorial Board Member); Walter Boynton (Editorial Board Member); Donald F. Boesch (Editorial Board Member); Robert W. Howarth (Editorial Board Member); Lisa Levin (Editorial Board Member); Scott W. Nixon (Editorial Board Member); Carlos Duarte (Editorial Board Member)
ISBN: 9789401788021
Publication Date: 2015-08-15
Encyclopedia of Genetics, Genomics, Proteomics, and Informatics by George P. Rédei
Publication Date: 2008
Comprehensive volume focusing "on studies based on the human and mouse genomes, but other model eukaryotes, as well as pathogenic bacteria, are given in-depth coverage."
Encyclopedia of Marine Mammals by Bernd Würsig (Editor); J. G. M. Thewissen (Editor); Kit M. Kovacs (Editor)
ISBN: 9780128043271
Publication Date: 2017-11-24
Encyclopedia of Ocean Engineering by Weicheng Cui (Editor); Shixiao Fu (Editor); ZhiQiang Hu (Editor)
ISBN: 9789811069451
Publication Date: 2022-05-27
Encyclopedia of Ocean Sciences by J. Kirk Cochran (Editor-In-Chief); Henry J. Bokuniewicz (Editor-In-Chief); Patricia L. Yager (Editor-In-Chief)
ISBN: 9780128130827
Publication Date: 2019-04-12
The Encyclopedia of Sustainability by by Ray C. Anderson
Publication Date: 2016
Multi-volume set where "experts from around the world provide authoritative coverage of the growing body of knowledge about ways to restore the planet. Focused on solutions, this interdisciplinary publication draws from the natural, physical, and social sciences..."
Encyclopedia of the World's Coastal Landforms by Eric Bird (Editor)
ISBN: 1402086385
Publication Date: 2010-02-25
Geoinformatics for Marine and Coastal Management by Darius Bartlett (Editor); Louis Celliers (Editor)
ISBN: 9781498731546
Publication Date: 2016-12-20
Imperiled: the Encyclopedia of Conservation by Dominick A. DellaSala (Editor-In-Chief); Michael I. Goldstein (Editor-In-Chief)
Publication Date: 2022
Treatise on Estuarine and Coastal Science by Donald McLusky (Editor-In-Chief); Eric Wolanski (Editor-In-Chief)
ISBN: 9780123747112
Publication Date: 2012
This multi-volume set "examines our estuaries and coasts, from the inland watershed to the ocean shelf... with a new focus on environmental, socio-economic and policy issues."