This is the "Getting Started" page of the "Picasso" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Picasso   Tags: art, courseguidespring12, visual studies  

Last Updated: Jan 30, 2012 URL: http://guides.library.duke.edu/picasso Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis

Getting Started Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Beginnings - Reference Sources

Scholarly Encyclopedias

Oxford Art Online
- Core art databases, searchable uniformly or individually, produced by Oxford University Press.  Includes many topics for Picasso and Cubism, including biographies, explanations of media, events. Includes Benezit Artist's Dictionary (until February 12)

Oxford Reference Online
~ Art reference books migrated to electronic form. Topics include performing arts (Ballets russes), historical events, etc . 

Encyclopedia of World Art.  18 vols.  New York, McGraw-Hill [1959-c1987]  Lilly Library Reference N31 .E4833 1959 
~ Although older essays, excellent essays (particularly for formal views of Picasso's art)

 

Pelican History of Art 
~  one of the long-established English-language surveys of art history.  Great for "further readings" or an overview to supplement notes or background information.


Green, Christopher.  Art in France, 1900-1940 / Christopher Green.  New Haven  : Yale University Press, c2000.   Lilly Library Reference | N5300 .P456 v.11  
~ treats the art period(s) surrounding Picasso's artistic life; excellent for context.

 

 

Specialized Reference

Primary Sources      Picasso, Pablo, 1881-1973 -- Sources. 

A cubism reader : documents and criticism, 1906-1914 / edited by Mark Antliff and Patricia Leighten ; translated from the French by Jane Marie Todd ; additional translations by Jason Gaiger ... [et al.].  Published  Chicago : University of Chicago Press, 2008.  N6494.C8 C75 2008

Ashton, Dore. Picasso on art: a selection of views.  New York, N.Y. : Da Capo, [1988], c1972.  Lilly Open Reserves N6853.P5 A35 1988

McCully, Marilyn. A Picasso anthology : documents, criticism, reminiscences.  Princeton, New Jersey : Princeton University Press, 1982, c1981.
Lilly Open Reserves N6853.P5 P52 1982

Exhibitions     Art, Modern -- 20th century -- Exhibitions.

Gordon, Donald E.   Modern art exhibitions: 1900-1916; selected catalogue documentation [by] Donald E. Gordon.   München, Prestel, 1974.   Lilly Library Reference  N6490 .G62 1974  
 

Criticism     Art, Modern -- Bio-bibliography.    Art, Modern -- 20th century -- Bio-bibliography.    Artists -- Directories.   Art criticism -- Periodicals.

Modern arts criticism.  Detroit, MI : Gale Research, 1991-    Lilly Library Reference Reference  N40 .M63

  

Visual Studies Librarian

Profile Image
Lee Sorensen
Contact Info
email: LSLILLY@duke.edu
104 Lilly Library
Box 90727
919 660-5994
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip