This is the "Getting Started" page of the " ARTSVIS 115: Photography" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

ARTSVIS 115: Photography   Tags: courseguidefall12, courseguidefall13, documentary studies, photography, pictures  

Guide on researching photographs using Duke Library collections : ARTSVIS 115 - Introduction to Photography (MJ Sharp)
Last Updated: Oct 11, 2013 URL: http://guides.library.duke.edu/photographs Print Guide RSS Updates

Getting Started Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Photography Research at Duke

This guide is about researching modern or contemporary photography in a documentary or art context. Consult the History of Photography page for researching art history or photographs in an historical context. 

 

Beginnings - Reference Sources


Oxford Art Online
- Art databases, searchable uniformly or individually, produced by Oxford University Press. 

Oxford Reference Online (includes photography)
~ Reference books migrated to electronic form.  Many art and photography sources not included above.


Encyclopedia of nineteenth-century photography / John Hannavy, ed.  2 vols. New York : Taylor & Francis Group, c2008.  Lilly LibraryReference R9 .H25 2008
~ newest reference source for the history of photography.  Scholarly, a good place to begin.

The Oxford companion to the photograph  Lenman, Robin. also hardcopy Lilly Library: TR9 .O94 2005
~ online and hardcopy starting point for photography history, terms, bibliography, etc.

The Abrams encyclopedia of photography / edited by Brigitte Govignon. New York : Harry N. Abrams, 2004.  Lilly Library Reference TR9 .P4813 2004 
~ smaller overview on photography, excellent plates.

George Eastman House - Notes on Photographs - a website full of reliable information on Phototography and photographers.

 

Specialized Reference

Processes

Graphics Atlas (online) http://www.graphicsatlas.org/ - online source for explaining and identifying print processes.  Sponsored by the Image Permanence Institute.

The Focal encyclopedia of photography / edited by Leslie Stroebel and Richard Zakia  3rd ed.  Boston : Focal Press, c1993.  Lilly Library Reference R9 .F6 1993  
~ best handbook explaining processes, techniques and materials, historic and contemporary

 

 

Visual Studies Librarian

Profile Image
Lee Sorensen
Contact Info
email: LSLILLY@duke.edu
104 Lilly Library
Box 90727
919 660-5994
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip