This is the "Getting Started" page of the "Museum Studies" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Museum Studies   Tags: art, courseguidespring11, museology, museum studies  

Last Updated: Jul 25, 2011 URL: http://guides.library.duke.edu/museumstudies Print Guide RSS Updates

Getting Started Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Beginnings - Reference Sources


Oxford Art Online
- Oxford's combined art databases, searchable uniformly or individually.  The first place to begin in any art or art-historical related research.

Pelican History of Art (series) Lilly Reference [various titles depending on period] Lilly N5300.P38
- the standard English-language history of art.  Continuously updated.  + extra images; good beginning bibliography

American Art Museum Directors - papers.  The site also includes other areas of interest.

 

Art Museum Annual Reports

Nasher Museum of Art at Duke University

Harvard Art Museums

 

 

Specialized Reference

Directories

 

American art directory [serial] .  New York, Jaques Cattell Press.  Lilly Library  Reference N50 .A447

  •  indexes museums and art organizations with listings by personnel, location and specialty

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

International directory of arts [formerly, Internationales Kunst-Adressbuch]. Berlin: Kaupterverlag. Lilly Library N50 .I6

  •  Directory of museums, gallery professionals, restorers, libraries, private galleries and institutions, worldwide.  Provides email addresses and faxes not commonly listed in websites.

 

 

 

 

 

The Official museum directory [serial].   Washington, D.C. : American Association of Museums.  Lilly and Perkins Library Ready Reference AM10.A2 O4 

  •  Directory of museums of all kinds in North America.  Size, budget information, personnel, subject concentration, annual attendance and house publications.

 

 

 

 

 

Visual Studies Librarian

Profile Image
Lee Sorensen
Contact Info
email: LSLILLY@duke.edu
104 Lilly Library
Box 90727
919 660-5994
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip