Skip to main content

Missions and World Christianity : Getting Started

This is a guide to "World Christianity," or the Christian faith as it is practiced outside of North America and Europe: Africa, Asia, and Latin America. It also provides resources for the history of missions throughout the world.

Frank Baker Collection

Frank Baker Collection of Wesleyana and British Methodism, 1536-1996 and undated

The Frank Baker Collection of Wesleyana and British Methodism, 1536-1996 and undated, comprises correspondence, writings, local histories, printed items, engravings, and many other manuscript materials that date from the earliest years of Methodism to its worldwide expansion up to the 20th century.

Welcome to the Missions and World Christianity Page

This guide provides resources to support the Divinity School students interested in collecting and studying the data on church membership and evangelistic activities collected around the world by Christian denominations. 

The Getting Started page provides general search tips, as well as links to online resources, journal titles, and reference works. Subsequent pages are devoted to the specific geographic areas and demographics to be considered in the study of Missions and Global Chrisitianity.

Philosophyscienceand theology of mission in the 19th and 20thcenturies : a missiological encyclopedia: a missiological encyclopedia

Evangelical dictionary of world missions

Dictionary of mission : theology, history, perspectives

Landmark essays in mission and world Christianity

Mission after Christendom : emergent themes in contemporary mission

Christianity encountering world religions : the practice of mission in the twenty-first century: the practice of mission in the twenty-firstcentury

The links below conduct searches in the Duke's library catalog. The subject terms could also be used to search other library catalogs including WorldCat.

Databases

Anthropology Plus

Provides access to the journal literature of physical and cultural anthropology, archeology and related disciplines from the late 19th century to the present.

ATLA Religion Database

Indexes journals and book essays in religion and theology. Seach using "globalization," "ecumenical movement," "missions," or particular geographical area.

British Online Archives

Contains digitized copies of archives held in Britain including missionary records and a full run of the Arminian Magazine/Methodist Magazine/Wesleyan-Methodist Magazine (1778-1913).

Catholic Periodical and Literature Index

A primary index for Roman Catholic journal articles, essays, book reviews and monographic literature. Search using "Christian union" or "Ecumenical movement."

World Christian Database

Based on World Christian Encyclopedia and World Christian Trends, information is readily available on religious activities, growth rates, religious literature, worker activity, population, health, education, and communications.

Empire Online
60,000 images of original documents linked to essays by leading scholars in the field of Empire Studies in five sections: Cultural Contacts, 1492-1969; Empire Writing and the Literature of Empire; The Visible Empire; Religion and Empire; and Race, Class, Imperialism and Colonialism c1607-2007.

 Association of Religion Data Archives

Access point to quantitative data sets on religion. The site aggregates data from a wide variety of sources, covering all subjects, from congregational statistics to religious profiles for countries worldwide.

Citing Resources

Try out one of Duke's *FREE* citation tools (RefWorks,EndNoteZotero):

RefWorks logo

EndNote logo

Zotero logo

For information on individual citation styles and guides see this citing sources guide