Skip to main content

Masaki Motoi Collection on Japanese Student Movement: MASAKI Motoi Japanese Student Movement Collection

About this collection

Collection consists of Japanese books, periodicals and other printed materials relating to the Japanese student movement of the 1960s and later. The materials derive from the first confrontations of 1960 provoked by the revision of the Security (ANPO) treaty, through the protest movement's years of crisis and decay in the 1970s, but there are more recent materials as well. 

Part of the collection’s original printed material was featured in the landmark "1960s Graphism" exhibit curated by the Tokyo Printing Museum (Insatsu Hakubutsukan) in 2002. Other visual material of interest is available in the dedicated issues of Asahi Graph and Shisô included in the collection.

The collection is housed in both the Rubenstein Library and the East Asian Collection in Duke University's Perkins Library.

Materials in the Rubenstein Library

 The materials in the collection are arranged as originally ordered, by formats. Items of interest include radical left-wing student newspapers, large flyers and smaller protest handouts, special issues from mainstream media outlets, clippings, and North Korean and former Soviet Union Communist propaganda. Notably, the collection includes a full 12-month run of the Japanese magazine, Kisetsu. Protest movement ephemera also includes original writings, chiefly mimeographed essays and manuscript submissions for publication. The collection is strong in material relating to the BUND movement (Kyôsan Shugisha Dômei), the rise of Zengakuren radicalism, and the birth of the Japanese Red Army Faction (Sekigun-Ha).Materials and this collection guide are in the Japanese language. Romanized titles are given for books and serials.

A detailed finding aid is available here:

This collection is stored off site and must be requested at least 24 business hours in advance for retrieval.  Contact Rubenstein Library staff  or Kristina Troost before visiting

Journals and Videos

Journal TitlePublisherHoldingsCall Number
Is : panoramic mag. ポーラ文化研究所  v.1(1978)-v.81(1999); v.84(2000)-v.88(2002) CB3 .I87
情況 情況出版 1st ser.: no.1,3-4(1968); no.5(1968/69)-no.16(1969) no.17-20,22-27(1970) no.28,40(1971) no.42,46(1972) no.54,56(1973); 2nd ser.: v.7,no.1-2,4-8,10-11(1996) v.8(1997)-v.11(2000); 3rd ser.: v.1(2000)- to date. J74D
季節 エスエル出版会 Vol. 1 (Sept. 1978) -v.12 (Aug. 1988). HX413.5 .K57
Video TitlePublisherSubjectCall Number
日本零年 = Nippon zero nen : documentary film [東京] : パイオニアLDC, [2007?]  Subject  Student movements -- Japan. Radicalism -- Japan   New Left -- Japan.; Videodisc release of the 1969 documentary film. Lilly DVD 12610