Skip to main content

Maps, Exploration and Empire: Getting Started

Background Information

ONLINE

Oxford Reference Online

Oxford Dictionary of National Biography

Oxford English Dictionary

Encylopedia of Western Colonialism since 1450

Encylopedia of World History

Oxford Bibliographies Online: Atlantic History

PRINT

Encyclopedia of exploration to 1800
a comprehensive reference guide to the history and literature of exploration, travel and colonization from the earliest times to the year 1800

Perkins, Lilly and Special Collections Reference G200 .H69 2003

Atlas of Exploration
Perkins and Lilly Library reference G1036 .A85 2008nn

Cassini globe

Cassini globe gores projected onto virtual globe
David Rumsey Map Collection

Databases

Historical Abstracts (EBSCOhost)
Covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present

America: History and Life
Citations and abstracts for articles on the history of the US and Canada.

History of Science
Indexes journal articles, conference proceedings, books, book reviews, and dissertations in the history of science, technology, medicine, and allied historical fields.

Bibliography of British and Irish History (BBIH)
  Indexes books, articles, and primary sources about the history of Britain, Ireland, and the British overseas from the Roman period to the present day. 

JSTOR
JSTOR is a collection of the full text contents of a broad range of academic journals.

Your Librarian

Carson Holloway
Contact:
Librarian for Military History, History of Science and Technology, Britain, Ireland and Commonwealth



Perkins and Lilly Libraries

919-660-5997

email: carson.holloway@duke.edu