This is the "Getting Started" page of the "WR20: Staging Identity Spring 2011" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

WR20: Staging Identity Spring 2011   Tags: courseguidespring11, drama, history, linker, theater, writing_20  

Last Updated: Jan 18, 2012 URL: http://guides.library.duke.edu/libertinespring2011 Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis

Getting Started Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Background Information

Restoration England Dates

Commonwealth and Protectorate 1649-1660
Restoration of the Monarchy 1660 

Charles II 1660-1685

James II 1685-1688
Glorious Revolution 1688

Literature Resource Center Includes Restoration and eighteenth-century dramatists.  Best searched by author, great source of biographical and critical info

Blackwell Companion to Stuart Britain

Cambridge Companion to English Restoration Theatre

Oxford Companion to British History (Ebook)

Article on the Glorious Revolution by Steve Pincus (from History Compass)

Daily Life in Stuart England (Ebook)

Restoration London, by Liza Picard
Perkins/Bostock
DA680 .P525 1997

Oxford Reference Online Oxford subject encyclopedias; search authors, terms, works

De Krey, G. S. (2008), Between Revolutions: Re-Appraising the Restoration in Britain. History Compass, 6: 738–773. Teaching and Learning Guide.

 

Locating articles

Found an article? Click on Get it @ Duke to locate the full-text for items you find in the databases. A box will pop up and tell you if the item is available online or in print.

No electronic text?  Use the "Search the Duke catalog" link to see if we have it in the library.   Note the location (eg Perkins/Bostock or Divinity) and  find the print volumes. (Use Ask a librarian if you have questions).  When you have found the volume with your article you can photocopy or scan it.

Need help using Get it @ Duke? Check out this short tutorial (2 min).

Not available through Duke? Request it (free!) from another library using Document Delivery.

 

Articles

Literature

MLA International Bibliography main literature database, good source for critical articles but not reviews

Literature Criticism Online a compendium of critical essays from classical to contemporary periods

History

Bibliography of British and Irish History
Index to articles and books on British history.

Historical Abstracts (EBSCOhost)
Covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present.

Religion

ATLA Religion Database  primary database for religious periodicals

Interdisciplinary

ProQuest scholarly journals in all fields, plus popular/media sources

Project Muse (current) and JSTOR (historical issues) full-text collections of core scholarly journals in all fields

Humanities Abstracts good coverage of music and other humanities sources

BHI, British Humanities Index
Index to articles on the Arts, including theater.

JSTOR
Huge database of articles: use very specific search terms.

 

Citing Sources

Check out these sites for tips on citing sources:

Create a free account in RefWorks, a web-based program that will help you collect, organize, share and format citations.

 

Websites

Evaluating Web Pages (from Duke Libraries)

Citing Sources (from Duke Libraries)

 



Literature & Theater Librarian

Profile Image
Sara Seten Berghausen
Contact Info
233 Perkins Library
919-660-5881

OFFICE HOURS
Wednesdays 3-5pm, 328 Allen
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip