Skip to main content

Land of the Free: Journal Articles

Key Databases

Academic article  databases

Political Science Complete

The place to start for Poltical Science and Public Policy journal articles. Top-ranked scholarly journals, recent reference works, and professional conference papers. Covers law and legislation, comparative politics, political theory, international relations, humanitarian issues, and non-governmental organizations.

Philosophers Index

Indexes and abstracts books and over 400 journals in philosophy and related disciplines

America: History and Life  

Index of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. Coverage 1954 to present.  This is the most important database for secondary literature in the field of history.

Web of Science

Provides access to the Social Sciences Citation Index® (1956-present), and Arts & Humanities Citation Index™ (1975-present).  The hallmark of this database is that you can do cited reference searching.  For example, you can quickly access a listing of other authors that have cited an article or book that you are using for your research.


Non-academic or popular article databases

Academic Search Complete

Even though it says "academic" this database also includes general interest articles , many article sin full text, in nearly all academic fields

Black Studies Center

Comprised of several cross-searchable component databases: Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience, International Index to Black Periodicals (IIBP), historical black newspapers, and the Black Literature Index.

Gender Watch

Full-text collection of over 140 international journals, magazines, newsletters, regional publications, special reports and conference proceedings devoted to women's studies and gender issues.  Coverage is 1974 to present.

PAIS and Worldwide Political Science Abstracts

Searches Worldwide Political Science Abstracts and PAIS simultaneously.  Worldwide Political Science Abstracts provides citations, abstracts, and indexing of the international serials literature in political science and its complementary fields.  PAIS indexes a wide variety of materials including books, journal articles, and government documents on contemporary worldwide social, economic, public policy and political issues. Coverage is 1915 to present.

Women's Studies International

Indexes feminist research literature in a wide range of subject areas including medicine and health, literature, sociology, history, international relations arts and humanities, business, political science, public policy, education, economics, law, and psychology.  Coverage is 1972 to present.

Your Librarian

Carson Holloway
Librarian for Military History, History of Science and Technology, Britain, Ireland and Commonwealth

Perkins and Lilly Libraries



San Francisco