Admin Sign In 

Researching Japan  Tags: japan japanese images primary_sources manga anime data film  

Portal for Japanese Studies
Last update: Jun 25th, 2009 URL: http://guides.library.duke.edu/japan  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Home            Print Page
  

Print Reference Sources

Handbook to Life in Medieval and Early Modern Japan
Perkins Ref: DS 822.2 D33 2007
Organized by topic; well indexed, illustrated, good tables.

Kodansha Encyclopedia of Japan. 9v.
Perkins Ref: DS805 .K633 1983
The articles are by eminent scholars and advanced graduate students; longer articles include a bibliography. Excellent for a summary of the scholarship and as a place to begin. Somewhat dated, but has not been superseded.

Japan: An Illustrated Encyclopedia. 2 v.
EA/ Perkins/ Lilly Ref: DS805. J263 1993
A revised and abridged version of the Kodansha Encyclopedia of Japan. Available in both print version and online through JapanKnowedge 

Encyclopedia of contemporary Japanese culture
Perkins Ref: DS822.5 .E516 2002
Covers literature, film, architecture, food, health, politics, economics, religion and technology, and range from shorter definitions, histories or biographies to longer essays treating major issues and ideas in depth.  Entries are signed. A-Z format.  Includes cross references and suggestions for further reading.

      
     

    Japanese Studies Librarian

    Profile ImageKristina Troost
    Online Chat / Networks:

    Contact Info:

    Kristina K Troost, PhD
    Japanese Studies
    kktroost@duke.edu
    Bostock 228, 660-5844

    Other Guides
    Resources in Japanese

     
    Description

      Loading content... please wait