Skip to main content

Sociology 690S: Challenges in U.S.-China Bilateral Relations: Getting Started

Databases in Chinese

China academic journals (中国知网): covers the majority of academic journals published in the PRC.

Chinese Cultural Revolution Database (Chinese, index in English)

Duxiu (读秀): indexes more than 2.3 million digitized books published in PRC, half of them are available full text.

Ren min ri bao = People's Daily (人民日报) : provides full text and original image of this daily newspaper from 1946 to current.

Taiwan Electronic Periodical Services (Chinese, traditional)

WiseSearch 慧科搜索 (Chinese, interface can be in English)

WiseNews, the News archive, is updated every day with items from over 1,600 content providers, including all 18 Chinese and English newspapers of Hong Kong, and a large number of other top-tier newspapers, magazines, newswires, TV and radio broadcasts of Mainland, Taiwan and some Asia Pacific countries.

See also Chinese studies databases

Databases in English

 Bibliography of Asian Studies is the main English language database on Asian Studies. You can often combine your search on it with the following:

See also: Find Databases by Subject

Top Journals:

Political Scicence

    Find Books in the Catalog

    Search Duke University Catalog & TRLN for books. The following are some sugested subject keywords:

    • China
    • Diplomacy
    • Democracy
    • Foreign relations
    • Relations
    • Social Conditions
    • Human rights
    • Intellectural property
    • Security
    • Environment
    • Energy

    Subject Librarian for China

    Luo Zhou
    Office: Bostock 229

    Tel: 919-660-5803

    Office hour: Friday 1-3pm @ Bostock 229 or send me an email to set up a consultation.

    Other Subject Librarians

    Catherine Shreve
    Librarian for public policy and political sciences

    Mark Thomas
    Librarian for Economics, Data & GIS

    Teddy Gray
    Librarian for Environmental studies