Admin Sign In 

Introduction to Library Resources 

Last update: Sep 20th, 2009 URL: http://guides.library.duke.edu/intro  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Home            Print Page
  
 

$$ for your research paper!

Want $1000 for your research paper?  Consider submitting it for consideration for the Durden Prize or Middlesworth Award!

 

Research by subject

Check out guides to researching topics ranging from linguistics to military history.  

Interested in talking with a librarian about your research?  Find the contact info for a subject specialist.

Need more info for doing research in your particular class?  Check out this list of course guides.

 

Ask Us Now!

Stuck? Ask a Librarian!

 
 

Course guides

Want a guide tailored to your course and assignments? Ask your subject librarian!

 

Finding books, recordings, films, journals...

Locate books, films, recordings, journals, and more using the catalog.  Need help requesting an item that is checked out or at LSC?  Check out a short tutorial (1 min).

 

 

 

Using databases to find articles

Click on Databases from the Libraries homepage. Enter database name (see below for starting points), or click Find Databases by Subject.

Need help choosing a database? Check out this short tutorial (1 min).

Click on Get it @ Duke to locate the full-text for items you find in the databases. Need help using Get it @ Duke? Check out this short tutorial (2 min).

And what is a "scholarly, peer reviewed" article anyway?

Not available through Duke? Request it from UNC, NC State or NCCU using Search TRLN, or get it from another library using Interlibrary Loan.

 

Writing an honors thesis

Check out what the library offers students writing honors theses...

  • The same check-out privileges that grad students have (just send your net ID to Emily Daly)
  • Study carrels that may be used for four-hour blocks -- stop by the Perkins circulation desk to check out a key
  • A group study room -- Bostock 112 -- designated specifically for honors researchers (contact Emily Daly, or ask at the check-out desk for the access code)
  • Book and article delivery to the library of your choice
  • Lockers for storing your materials (just ask at the Perkins check-out desk)
  • $1000 for your honors thesis! Enter your thesis into competition for the Durden Prize or Middlesworth Award
 
 

Avoiding plagiarism

Find out what to cite, how to cite and how to avoid plagiarism.

Research and Documentation Online Contains sample papers in MLA, APA, Chicago and CSE formats!

Duke's Guide to Citing Sources

Citing Music Sources

Citing Images
Tips for using images responsibly

 

Organizing references

Ref Works

RefWorks is a web-based research management, writing and collaboration tool.

Want to learn more? Check out a 2-min tutorial on creating an account.

EndNote

Endnote, a desk-top program that will help you organize and format your sources, is available for download through OIT.

Want to learn more? Check out EndNote's online support, or register for an EndNote class.

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait