Skip to Main Content

SOCIOL 490S:Images of Differences: Race, Gender, and Sexuality in the Media: Getting Started

Library resources for Dr. Rebecca Bach's course, fall 2013

Background Sources

Encyclopedia of Race and Racism [electronic]
Anthropological, sociological, historical, and economic theories of race and racism.

Encyclopedia of Gender and Society [electronic]
Major theories, research and issues in contemporary gender studies.

Encyclopedia of Sex and Gender [electronic]
Perspectives on conceptions of gender and sexuality.

Encyclopedia of Race, Ethnicity, and Society [electronic]
Addresses issues of race, ethnicity and inequalities.

Encyclopedia of Prostitution and Sex Work [print]
Important social, cultural, geographic and medical topics related to sex work.

The Advertising Age Encyclopedia of Advertising [print]
Major individuals, products and agencies in the world of advertising.

Concepts

General Sociology

Blackwell Encyclopedia of Sociology
Definitions and overviews of the key theories, concepts and research fronts in sociology.

International Encyclopedia of the Social and Behavioral Sciences
Maps history, current theory and methodology of the social sciences.

International Encyclopedia of the Social Sciences
Emphasizes the impact of critical theory, cultural studies, and empirical research on the social sciences.

Sociology
Text by Anthony Giddens provides an introduction to the theories and debates within sociology.

Your Librarians

Schedule a research consultation:

Linda Daniel
Head, Social Sciences
Librarian for Sociology and Cultural Anthropology
Perkins Library
660-5927
Email Linda

Jackie Wachholz
Director, Hartman Center for Sales, Advertising & Marketing History
Perkins 103
919-660-5836
Email Jackie