Skip to main content

History 390S: Research in Human Rights: Getting Started

Need Help?

Finding Background Information: Encyclopedias and Dictionaries

Why use an encyclopedia? The Duke University Libraries provide access to hundreds of subject-specific encyclopedias, containing articles written by experts. Encyclopedias can be excellent resources for providing overviews, brainstorming topics, and identifying keywords to use searches.

 Online Reference Collections

ABC-CLIO ebook Collection, formerly History Reference Online, is an online collection of hundreds of history reference titles published by ABC-Clio. This is a fantastic resource, which can be browsed by subject categories or full-text searched by keyword. 

 Oxford Reference Online provides access to a selection of reference titles.  The database homepage displays a listing of all the accessible titles. so you can quickly identify the ones that pertain to U.S. history.

Blackwell Reference Online is an online collection of the well regarded Blackwell companions.  You can browse by subject, search the entire collection, or search within a specific work.

Specific Titles of Interest: Print and Online

American Immigration: An Encyclopedia of Political, Social, and Cultural Change (Print)

Anti-Immigration in the United States: A Historical Encyclopedia (Print)

Encyclopedia of Human Rights (Online)

Undocumented Immigrants in the United States: An Encyclopedia of Their Experience (Print)


 

 

 

 

 

Your Librarian

Kelley Lawton
Contact:
114 Lilly Library
919-660-5990