Skip to main content

Gustave Lanson

collection description

image

Duke University Lanson Collection

Description and History of the Collection

When Trinity College became Duke University in 1924, a 1.4 million dollar endowment was allocated for “the Library Budget Fund.” This money was dedicated to purchasing books for the new university’s library. At the same time, the Department of Modern and Classical Languages was separated into two large departments: 1) The Department of Slavic and Germanic Language; 2) the Department of Romance Languages, which is today called the Department of Romance Studies. Thanks to the influence of Professor Wannamaker (MA, Harvard), the former chair of the Department of Modern Languages who had recently become the Dean of Trinity College, the French and the Spanish sections received a donation from these particular “Library Budget funds” which would allow them to the develop and enrich their collection of volumes. While residing in Paris at the Hôtel de la Cloche for several months in 1926, A.M. Webb, the chairman of the Department of Romance Languages, sought after large libraries to purchase.

According to library brokers of Paris, the largest available library (11,000 volumes) was that of the former director of l’Ecole Normale Supérieure and famous historian of French literature, Gustave Lanson. Gustave Lanson, who was born in Orléans in 1857, published his Histoire de la littérature française in 1894 where he developed a system of rigorous literary critiques adapted from methods of historical analysis; these critiques focused on the historical aspect and exterior of literary works. He became even more influential thanks to the collective project Manuel bibliographique de la littérature française (1909-1912). Over the course of thirty years, he was so influential on literature and on written critiques that his colleagues, along with writers, poets, playwrights all felt obligated to dedicate their most recent work to Lanson, the “Master.” Following the untimely death of his son Michel, Lanson decided to sell his library, and he asked the bookseller, Auguste Picard, to be his agent.

From the start, Lanson seemed particularly interested in selling his books to an American university, and more specifically, to one of the prestigious universities on the East Coast of the United States where he had been invited many times. Harvard, Columbia and Princeton Universities were all possibilities. Yet these institutions already had considerable collections of French books, and none of them wanted to buy the ensemble that also included books which they already owned. Lanson insisted that the library be bought in its entirety and bear his name. Only Duke’s representative could guarantee the “Master’s” requirements. Lanson required three mandatory demands before his books would be shipped to the United States: 1) that all the works be bound in a uniform manor in France; 2) that each book be stamped on the back with a fleur-de-lis seal bearing his name; 3) that the book plate in the second cover indicate his library as the work’s place of origin. The proposed price in 1926 was 125,000 francs (today - 375.000 euros or $325,000). Picard attempted to augment the price once he learned of Duke’s need for French texts, but Webb contacted Lanson directly and a joint agreement was concluded without intermediary. In 1927, for the sum originally proposed, plus the expenses of soft binding, shining, transportation, and other payable rights, Lanson’s library was sold in its entirety and would be coming to Duke University. Duke also needed a definitive inventory of the works from their Parisian representatives; once indexed, all the books were confided to a bookbinder friend of Lanson and then sent to Duke. Lanson gave himself the individual pleasure of keeping nearly 500 of his volumes that were necessary for his courses and for his writings, but these books, as well as those that were acquired between 1924 and his death, had to be immediately marked as property of Duke in order to prevent any contestation at the moment of the master’s disappearance.

Although Lanson died in 1934, the volumes were continually transferred until 1936. In total more than 11,000 works from Lanson’s library comprise the French collection of Perkin’s Library. Most of them, including those with dedications, are at the disposition of the public on the shelves of the library; some of the rare works were placed in Perkins’ Rare Book Room. In 1984, the Tenth Colloquium on 20th Century French Studies was held at Duke University. The Lanson collection was showcased because of its French works dating from the end of the 19th century and the beginning of the 20th century which are difficult to find elsewhere in the United States. Since then, many European and North American scholars have come to research the exceptionally rich collection. In collaboration with the services of the library, a group of researchers and doctoral students have worked to create a systematic census of the works, a list of works with dedications from the author, and a compilation of Lanson’s marginalia. An annotated publication of the dedications and marginalia is envisioned for when this inventory is complete.

Lorsque Trinity College se transforma en Duke University (1924), la donation originale comprenait en plus un fonds appelé « Library Budget Fund » d'un montant de 1,400.000 dollars destiné à l'achat de livres pour la bibliothèque de la nouvelle université. A la même époque, le Département de Langues Etrangères Modernes et Classiques se transforma en deux grands départements: 1) Le Département de Langues Germaniques et Slaves (Department of Slavic and Germanic Languages); 2) le Départment de Langues Romanes (Dpt. of Romance Languages, aujourd'hui Dpt. of Romance Studies). Sous l'impulsion de l'ancien Chairman du Département de Langues Modernes, le Professeur Wannamaker (MA, Harvard), devenu Dean de Trinity College, la section de français et la section d'espagnol reçurent une dotation de ce fonds particulier afin de développer et enrichir les collections de volumes dans ces deux langues. En 1926, le Chairman du Département de Langues Romanes, A.M. Webb (MA, Chicago) se rendit à Paris où il logea plusieurs mois à l'Hôtel de la Cloche à la recherche de larges bibliothèques à acheter.

Parmi les courtiers en livres et libraires de Paris on savait que la plus grande bibliothèque disponible (11,000 volumes) était celle de l'ancien directeur de l'Ecole Normale Supérieure et célèbre historien de la littérature française, Gustave Lanson. Né en 1857 à Orléans, Gustave Lanson avait publié en 1894 son Histoire de la littérature française dans laquelle il avait développé un système de critique littéraire rigoureuse adapté des méthodes d'analyse historique et qui privilégiait l'aspect historique et extérieur des œuvres littéraires. Son influence s'était ensuite étendue grâce au projet collectif de Manuel bibliographique de la littérature française (1909-1912). Son influence sur la littérature et les écrits critiques s'est maintenue pendant près de trente années et nombreux sont ses collègues et écrivains, poètes, dramaturges qui se sont sentis obligés, lors de la parution de leur dernier ouvrage, de l'envoyer avec une dédicace flatteuse ou respectueuse au « Maître ». Comme son fils Michel était mort récemment, Lanson s'était décidé à vendre cette bibliothèque et il avait demandé au libraire Auguste Picard d'être son agent.

Dès les premiers mois de la mise en offre, Lanson semblait plus particulièrement décidé à vendre ses livres à une université Américaine, et, en particulier, à l'une de ces universités prestigieuses de la côte est des États-Unis dont il avait été l'invité à plusieurs reprises. Furent donc pressenties les universités de Harvard, Columbia, Princeton. Mais comme elles avaient déjà toutes un fonds de livres français assez considérable, aucune d'entre elles ne voulait acheter l'ensemble de la collection qui comprenait aussi des livres du tout venant. Lanson insistait pour que la bibliothèque soit achetée dans son intégralité et soit marquée à son nom. Seul le représentant de Duke une fois mis en contact avec l'agent Picard pouvait garantir cette exigence du « Maitre ». Lanson insistait en outre pour que tous les ouvrages soient reliés d'une manière uniforme en France avant leur départ pour les États-Unis et soient frappés sur le dos d'un cachet-fleuron fleurdelisé portant mention de son nom et un ex-libris en deuxième de couverture indiquant sa bibliothèque comme lieu de provenance de l'ouvrage. Le prix proposé en 1926 était 125,000 francs (375.000 € de nos jours ou $325,000). Étant donnés les besoins importants de Duke, Picard a essayé de faire monter le prix, mais Webb a pris contact directement avec Lanson et un accord de gré à gré a été conclu sans intermédiaire. En 1927, pour la somme originellement proposée, plus les frais de brochage, reliure, transport, etc. et autres droits payables, la bibliothèque de Lanson était vendue dans son intégralité présente et à venir à Duke University. Un inventaire définitif devrait être établi pour Duke par ses représentants parisiens; tous les livres une fois répertoriés seraient confiés à un relieur ami de Lanson et ensuite envoyés à Duke. Lanson se réservait la jouissance individuelle d'à peu près 500 volumes nécessaires a ses cours et à ses écrits, mais ces livres ainsi que ceux qui devaient être acquis entre 1924 et la date de la mort de Lanson devaient être immédiatement marqués comme appartenant à Duke afin d'empêcher toute contestation de propriété au moment de la disparition du Maître.

Lanson est mort en 1934, mais le transfert des volumes a duré jusqu'en 1936 et, au total, c'est plus de 11,000 ouvrages de la bibliothèque de Lanson qui servirent à constituer le fonds français de Perkins Library. La plupart (y compris ceux avec dédicace) sont à la disposition du public sur les étagères de la bibliothèque; quelques ouvrages rares ont été placés dans la « Rare Book Room » de la bibliothèque Perkins. En 1984, lors du Tenth Colloquium on XIXth-century French Studies, qui s'est tenu à Duke University, la collection Lanson, qui offre des ouvrages français de la fin du XIXe et du début du XXe introuvables ailleurs aux États-Unis, a été présentée aux participants et depuis elle a reçu beaucoup de chercheurs européens et nord-américains qui viennent consulter ses richesses exceptionnelles. Depuis 1994, un groupe de chercheurs et d'étudiants de doctorat ont entrepris, en collaboration avec les services de la Bibliothèque, un recensement systématique des ouvrages ainsi reçus ainsi qu'une liste des ouvrages comportant une dédicace de l'auteur ou des marginalia de Lanson. Une fois ce relève accompli, une publication annotée des dédicaces et marginalia est envisagée.

Jean-Jacques Thomas
Director, Lanson Project
Janvier 1999

Bookplate

Image

Illustration from December 22, 1912 New York Times article on Gustave Lanson