Beginnings

Groveart (Oxford Online) - scholarly encyclopedi for art history
- Scholarly art encyclopedia. Entries include terms and other art topics related (Asia Minor, etc.)
Brill's New Pauly (ENGLISH!) - standard classical-subject scholarly encyclopedia for classical studies, formerly in German (natürlich) now online and in English (Gott sei dank!)
Oxford Classics Online - see "Other Sources" tab for full description.
Oxford Reference Online - general online reference encyclopedias and dictionaries searchable all at once. Includes an important decorative arts encyclopedia not included in the above set.
Website
Perseus Project - Classical studies website maintained by Tufts University. Compendium of texts and images.
Beazley Archive - the ongoing index of the classical material world founded by a major Oxford scholar.
Corpus
Corpora ("Corpus", singluar) is a scholarly collection of one kind of thing. Regardless of present location, scholars collect images and scholarly opinion on that genre into one (frequently ongoing) set of books. Greek pottery is posesses the granddaddy of them all:
Corpus Vasorum Antiquorum
CVA Online - not all the CVA has been migrated to online. A complete set is held at Lilly Library
example:
| Author | Sarti, Susanna. |
| Title | Corpus vasorum antiquorum. Italia : Firenze - Museo Archeologico Nazionale : vasi attici a figure nere / di Susanna Sarti e Laura Venuti . |
| Published | Roma : "L’Erma" di Bretschneider, c2009. |
| Location/Request | Lilly Library: Locked Stacks | NK4640.C6 I7 fasc.74 |
| Description | 49 p., 58 p. plates : ill. ; 33 cm. |
| Series | Corpus vasorum antiquorum. Italia, fasc. 74. |
| Variant title | Vasi attici a figure nere |
| Notes | At head of title: Union académique internationale. |
| "Opera pubblicata dalla Union accademica nazionale." | |
| "Museo archeologico nazionale - fascicolo 6." | |
| Notes | Includes bibliographical references: p. [9]-12 and indexes. |
Visual Studies Librarian |
Links: Profile & Guides |








Loading...
