Skip to main content

HISTORY 160S: The Global Sixties

Professor Chappel

Global searches

Global searches can be a good place to start your research, but databases allow you to do a more systematic and focused  literature search

After searching

Check the overview of databases

Find articles about the Sixties in article databases

Consider recommended starting points:

The Arts,  Literature, Including Autobiography and Memoir

Film

History and Social Science

International 

Music

Psychology

Women's Studies, Gender Studies, LGBT

Selected terms for searching article databases

If your research is on art topics, start your article research in an art databases; look for suggestions on the left; which databases might be good starting points for the following research topics

  • Communal living--United States
  • Feminism -- Europe -- History -- 20th century
  • Latin American literature -- 20th century -- History and criticism
  • Time Period 1960 to 1970 (add country or region)
  • United States--History--1961-1969
  • Germany -- History -- 1945-1990
  • France -- Politics and government -- 1958-1969
  • Latin America -- History -- 20th century
  • Vietnam War, 1961-1975 --Protest movements
  • Protest movements -- Germany (West) -- History -- 20th century
  • Protest movements -- Latin America -- History -- 20th century
  • African-Americans
  • Baby boom generation--United States
  • college students -- france -- political activity – history
  • College students -- Argentina -- Political activity
  • Democratic National Convention (1968 : Chicago, Ill.
  • Detroit Riots
  • Cuban Missile Crisis
  • Berlin Wall, Berlin, Germany, 1961-1989
  • Feminism
  • Advertising--United States
  • Mass media--United States
  • Television broadcasting--Social aspects
  • Mass media and culture -- Great Britain -- History -- 20th century
  • Television in politics

The following sample bibliography (hosted by a US university) shows the great number of research topics for this era; if you see a book in the bibliography that looks interesting, copy/paste the title into the Duke Catalog search to get a local copy of the book:

 The 1960s: A Bibliography. By Rebecca Jackson (Iowa State University Library)