GIS Data Sources: General Collections and Info

• WorldMap Warp Tool for georeferencing scanned historical maps. Visitors can browse maps others have geo-rectified or upload their own to rectify.
  
• Geospatial Metadata Tools Links to a number of metadata creation and editing tools, from the Federal Geographic Data Committee (FGDC).
• USGS Mapping Science Software Links to several utilities.
• GeoCommunity: Free Software Mostly format translator programs and some zip/unzip programs.
• Safe Software, Inc. Company that produces commercial GIS/CAD translator software, the Feature Manipulation Engine (FME).

• ESRI
  Environmental Systems Research Institute, Inc., a leading producer of GIS and desktop mapping software (e.g., ArcGIS).
• MapInfo
  Producers of MapInfo, a desktop mapping software package often used in business and marketing applications.
• Intergraph
  Makers of GIS and related software.

Broad Data Collections

• ArcGIS Hub  Thousands of free GIS datasets primarily from U.S. federal, state, and local agencies, but some international areas, too.
• GeoPlatform.gov: Colllection of over 100,000 geospatial datasets in all sort of formats, from federal and state agencies, universities, non-profits, city governments, and other entities.  The geospatial subset of Data.gov (be aware that some of data.gov's "non-geospatial" datasets actually have locational information).
• ESRI Data & Maps
• Layers covering the USA, international areas, and the entire world; Duke Only
• Global GIS DVD: Compiled by the USGS and the Amean Geological Institute; contains USGS and other public domain data, including global coverages at a nominal scale of 1:1 million in the following categories: Economic Structures, Environment, Gazeteers, Imagery, Land, Political, Rasters, Reference, Transportation, and Utilities.  Several formats, mostly shapefiles or rasters.

Links to GIS Data and Information

• Search for GIS data
  From the Data & GIS Services Department at Perkins Library.  Look for "GIS" under Subject at left.
• Dictionary of Abbreviations and Acronyms in Geographic Information Systems, Cartography, and Remote Sensing
  By Philip Hoehn of the David Rumsey Collection and Mary Larsgaard of the University of California, Santa Barbara. Hosted by the University of California, Berkeley.
• Geospatial and Attribute Links (Univ. of Arkansas)
  Provides links to other sites that have data in a variety of formats. Includes links to US state agencies that can provide GIS data.
• GIS Internet Resources
  Links to GIS information and data, from the University of California, Berkeley.
• Open Directory Project
  Geographic Information Systems

Other Miscellaneous Collections

• GIS Data Depot from Geo Community
  Provides free GIS data and GIS software products for downloading, or allows purchase of the data of your choice on CD-ROM. Data is arranged geographically. "The majority of the data provided  ... has been downloaded by our staff from a wide range of GIS Web sites located on the Internet." "Most of the vector data is available in E00, SHP, MIF, DXF, or DLG SDTS format and the raster data is available in TIFF or JPEG format." The files are usually compressed or combined in some way (zipped, gzipped, or tarred).