Skip to main content

German Studies Materials in the Rubenstein Rare Book & Manuscript Library: Getting Started


This guide will help orient you to some of the very many German Studies resources at the David M. Rubenstein Rare Book & Manuscript Library at Duke University. For more information, please contact us!

Heidi Madden, Librarian for Western Europe

Contact Info:
234 Bostock | 919.660.5984
Heidi Madden has created many very useful guides related to Germany and German sources. Please visit her profile for more information about them.

Table of Contents

Literature and Printing: Includes information about our collections of emblem books; incunabula; German newspapers, periodicals, and caricature serials; and translations of works by Stefan George.

German Americana: Includes information about the Henkel Family Papers, as well as many other important manuscript collections of Germans who settled in the United States in and around the 1800s.

Harold Jantz Collection: Includes information about Harold Jantz and his many important collections of German art and literature.

Religion: Includes information about searching the catalog, and about our extensive collection of German Jewish printed material as well as items related to the Reformation.

Alchemy, Science, and Medicine: Includes information about our History of Medicine collection; about searches for items about alchemy, science, and medicine; and about exemplary works in these areas.

World War II and National Socialism: Includes information about visual materials, catalog searches, on-line resources, and notable manuscript collections.

Germany in the 19th and 20th Centuries: Includes information on a wide variety of collections that help to depict everyday life in Germany in the 19th and 20th centuries -- from broadsides and caricature serials, to photographs of the Boxer Rebellion in China and of the destruction of the Berlin Wall, to the papers of an advertising executive in Frankfurt and handbooks published by the German Army, and beyond.

Research Services Intern

Dominique Dery