Admin Sign In 

German Studies Resources 

Guide to Resources in Germanic Languages & Literature and History
Last update: Nov 10th, 2009 URL: http://guides.library.duke.edu/german  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Home            Print Page
  
 

Key Article Databases

  • Academic OneFile* provides access to some 11,000 journals with full-text articles from more than 4,000 peer-reviewed journals and reference sources worldwide. 1980 - present  
  • Academic Search Premier* is a scholarly, full text database designed for academic institutions. The database includes full text for 1800 publications as well as images, for nearly every academic field of study. 1975 - present
  • Arts and Humanities Citation Index* is contained in the ISI Web of Science which provides access to the Science Citation Expanded® (1900-present), Social Sciences Citation Index® (1956-present), and Arts & Humanities Citation Index™ (1975-present). It enables users to search current and retrospective multidisciplinary information from some of the most prestigious, high impact research journals in the world
  • Dissertations &Theses* includes more than 2.4 million entries for dissertations and theses in all subject areas from around the world. Provides abstracts for dissertations (July 1980-present); abstracts for master's theses (1988-present); and citations for dissertations dating from 1637. Nearly one million dissertations and theses are available for download in PDF format
  • Google Scholar* allows search for scholarly literature across a variety of disciplines and providers including academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations. Google Scholar is freely searchable; use the GetIt@Duke links for full-text (if available)
  • Humanities Abstracts* covers citations and abstracts of 500 journals in the areas of archaeology, classics, art, performing arts, philosophy, history, music, linguistics, literature, and religion. 1984 present  
  • Humanities International Complete* includes all data from the American Humanities Index, plus more international content. Strongest coverage in literature and literary arts, but also includes journals in philosophy, theater, film, history, cultural and ethnic studies, archeology, music, dance, and multi-disciplinary humanities topics. Date coverage varies by journal, with some titles included back to 1929; some full-text
  • JSTOR* is an archive for academic journals. Articles are available as scanned versions of journal pages. Date Coverage Varies. A typical coverage range of a journal is the beginning of the journal until 5 years ago
  • Literature Resource Center* provides the full text of biographies, bibliographies, and critical analyses for authors of every age, nation, and literary discipline. Covers more than 100,000 novelists, poets, essayists, journalists and other writers, with in-depth coverage of 2,500 of the most-studied authors
  • MLA International Bibliography* provides citations to research in literature, literary criticism, linguistics, modern languages, drama, folklore, film and video, and other communicative behavior. Covers American, English, French, German, Hungarian, Italian, Polish, Portuguese, Russian, Spanish, Yiddish, other European, Asian, African, and Latin American literature and folklore. 1926-present
  • Periodicals Archive Online* provides archive of digitized journals published in the arts, humanities and social sciences. It has been indexed in its sister database, Periodicals Index Online
  • Periodicals Index Online* indexes thousands of selected periodicals in the humanities and social sciences. Includes the complete table of contents for each issue of each journal. Bibliographic records are included for the journals themselves. The scope is international. 1770 to 1995
  • Project Muse* covers e-journals covering the arts and humanities, social science, and mathematics. The journals are published by university presses, including the Duke University Press
  • BDSL-online* is a database for German language and literature, literary history and criticism. Covers books, pamphlets, articles, chapters in books, dissertations and reviews. Indexes significantly more German language publications than MLA, Humanities Abstracts etc. 1985-present; earlier in print
  • DigiZeitschriften* provides full-text access to some German journals and annuals, often covering them in their entirety. Some start in the 1800s. Subjects include literature, history, art, religion, music, law and the sciences
  • Germanistik*  international index of materials in German language and literature. 2008 – present online. 1960 – 2008 in print
  • IBZ Online* lists more than two million articles in a wide variety of German and non-German journals, annuals, learned society yearbooks, conference proceedings, newspapers, etc. in all fields of knowledge and all languages, from a German point of view.  1981-present online. 1896-1986 in print
  • Internationale Bibliographie zur deutschen Klassik 1750-1850 [serial].  Perkins/Bostock Library  Z2233 .I6
  • KLGonline* is the standard database for German Literature and German language literature published after 1945; provides bio-bibliographical information for more than 650 authors. 1945 – present
  • Zeitschriften der Aufklärung contains digitized journals and review organs from the enlightenment period
  • Wolfenbütteler Barock-Nachrichten [serial]. UNC Davis Library   Call Number Z2232 .W65
  • ATLA Religion Database* provides over 1.2 million citations about all aspects of world religions. Also covers Biblical studies, world religions, church history, religious perspectives on world history, theology, and the religious aspects of anthropology, ethics, philosophy, psychology, history, sociology, and law. 1949-present
  • Bibliography of British and Irish History* guide to what has been written about British and Irish history from the Roman period to the present day, produced by the Royal Historical Society.  Contains over 420,000 entries and is updated three times a year.
  • In Principio* contains over one million incipits (the first words of a particular work), from the files of the Institut de Recherche et d'Histoire des Textes, Bibliothèque Nationale de France, and the Hill Monastic Manuscript Library, covering Latin literature from the pre-classical age to the Renaissance. For each incipit, references are given to the author's name and title of a work, the manuscript or manuscripts which contain the text, and bibliographical references.
  • International medieval bibliography* covers all facets of medieval (400-1500) history and life in Europe, the Middle East and North Africa. Subjects include history, religion, philosophy, womens' studies, literature, art history and others. contains over 300,000 articles derived from regular coverage of about 4500 periodicals and 5000 miscellany volumes (conference proceedings, essay collections, Festschriften and exhibition catalogues). 1975-present
  • Iter gateway*  indexes journals relevant to the all aspects of the European Renaissance (1300-1700) and the medieval period (400-1500), including history, literature, art, philosophy, politics and government, and religion. Covers complete runs of more than 400 scholarly journal titles, published from 1843 to the present.

Browse more Western European Databases

 

 

Your Librarian

Profile ImageHeidi Madden, Ph.D.
Contact Info:
234 Bostock
919.660.5984
Send Email

Subjects:
Western European Studies

 

Key Catalogs

Start here if you want to find books on your topic. Start with the Duke catalog if you want to find out if Duke holds a particular journal.

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait