Skip to main content

Spanish 311 Food Production & Consumption: NC & Peru: Getting Started

A Comparative Approach

Journal Articles

To read more about the contents of any database in the Duke University Libraries, click on the title of the database and then on the "more details" link.

Useful general databases containing journal articles in English:

Useful general databases containing journal articles in Spanish:

  • Informe - Contains full text of popular magazines, academic journals and selected newspaper articles in Spanish from 1990s to Present. Search using Spanish keywords.
  • Prisma - Provides full-text to scholarly journals in English, Spanish & Portuguese from the 1970s-Present.
  • Red ALyC - An open access database of full-text articles from scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences published primarily in Latin American, the Caribbean, and Iberia. Search in Spanish.
  • SciELO - Scientific Electronic Library Online - An open access database of full-text journal articles published in Latin America in the physical and social sciences. Search in Spanish.

Internet Sites

LANIC (Latin American Network Information Center). LANIC is a project at the U. of Texas where faculty & trained assistants evaluate web sites relevant to Latin American and Caribbean Studies. Organized by country, theme & discipline, this is one-stop-shopping for finding information on the web. The site is available in English, Spanish & Portuguese.

Visual Materials

PHOTOGRAPHS The best general database for images is:

AP Images  Associated Press photos covering more than a century of historical events

Also see books of photography on Perú  and North Carolina   

The documentary photography collections on the Rubenstein Library page of this guide include images of farms and farmworkers in North Carolina.

For additional image resources consult the guide to images prepared by Lee Sorensen, Duke's Librarian for Visual Studies.



United States  and the series "Best Editorial Cartoons of the Year" 

North Carolina  


Try a Google image search for various keywords such as  <political posters Peru food> 

The manuscript collections listed on the Rubenstein Library page of this guide include posters and other visual material related to activists' support of farmworkers in North Carolina.


Archivo digital de la legislación en el Perú    

The Farmworkers Movement Archive


The Princeton University Libraries has collected ephemera (posters, leaflets, newsletters) from each country in Latin America. The Duke Libraries owns the microfilmed reels for Perú which include sections on Agriculture, Environment, Human Rights, Women's Issues and other topics.

Newspaper Articles

Current Newspapers

  • America's News Includes major regional newspapers from the United States. 
  • Ethnic NewsWatch Contains the full text of more than 450,000 articles published in nearly 200 ethnic & minority publications.
  • Latin American Newsstand Find newspapers from Latin America and the Caribbean IN SPANISH. Starting dates vary from 1995 forward.
  • Lexis-Nexis Academic Contains both foreign and U.S. newspapers in English.
  • Factiva A great source for foreign language newspapers but view the Flash tutorial at the database guide link before searching.

Additional Guides

There are several excellent guides prepared by Linda Daniel to help you find resources on various aspects of food studies.  Here are some pages on specific topics:

Subject Guide

Holly Ackerman
Room 231, Bostock
Box 90195
Duke University Libraries
Durham, NC 27708