Skip to main content

WOMENST/ARTST 213S - Feminist Art from the 1970s - Kim Lamm: Getting Started

Why Encyclopedias First?

Scholarly (specialized) encyclopedias scope out an area, providing a useful overview and giving many quick leads.

Keep an eye out in these texts for:

  • bibliographies
  • scholar's names
  • nomenclature
  • event names

Beginnings - Reference Sources

Scholarly Art Encyclopedias

Oxford Art Online
- Core art databases, searchable uniformly or individually, produced by Oxford University Press. 

Oxford Reference Online (includes photography)
~ Reference books migrated to electronic form that include art and photography sources not searched above. 

Oxford Bibliographies - Art -  scholarly books and databases list (quick short cut to the good stuff!) -- includes essays by Duke professors.

 

 Scholarly Feminist Sources

Women's Studies Encyclopedia (online)

Women's Studies Portal (Univ. Maryland)

Specialized Reference

Biographies

Contemporary artists.   New York ; St. Martins Press ; London : St. James Press.  Lilly Library Reference N6490 .C6567
~ recent artists lives and careers distilled into individual entries.  Includes gallery exhibitions and selected articles.

 

Artists' Quotations/Statements/Manifesti

Twentieth-century artists on art : an index to writings, statements, and interviews by artists, architects, and designers... by  Robertson, Jack. New York : G.K. Hall ; London : Prentice Hall International, c1996.  Lilly Reference NX456 .R59 1996 c.1

Criticism

Modern arts criticism.  Detroit, MI : Gale Research, 1991-    Lilly Library Reference 709.22 M689, A792x In process-LC  

  

Subject Guide

Lee Sorensen
Contact:
Box 90727
Lilly Library
LSLILLY@duke.edu
919.660.5994
Website / Blog Page