Skip to main content

Empires in Historical Perspective: Getting Started

History 157S

Background Information

ABC-Clio Ebook collection
E-book versions of Encyclopedias, etc. (Also known as History Reference Online.)

Oxford Reference Online
More Reference E-books.

Encyclopedia of World History
ancient, medieval, and modern, chronologically arranged

 Berkshire Encyclopedia of World History

Colonialism: An International Social, Cultural, and Political Encyclopedia
(This link may not work off campus.)

Cambridge Histories Online 
Provides access to over 250 Cambridge history volmes published since 1960. Covers the areas of American history, British history, Economic history, General history, History of science, History of the book.

Oxford Dictionary of National Biography
Dictionary of illustrated biographies of over 50,000 non-living people who lived in the British Isles (or its associated territories, including the American colonies) and shaped its history.

American National Biography
A major biographical resource for American history, the ANB details the lives of nearly 18,000 men and women from all walks of American life. All entries are no longer alive.

World Biographical Information System (WBIS)
Contains biographical information on over 6 million people worldwide, from the 8th century BC to present. All areas of society and professions are covered. This database serves as an index to several microfiche sets, which the library owns.


Historical Abstracts
Covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present.  Be sure to limit to English language.

America: History and Life
 Covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present.

Bibliography of Asian Studies
Indexes the scholarly literature on all subjects (especially humanities and social sciences) pertaining to East, Southeast, and South Asia published worldwide from 1971 to the present.

A database of archived issues of academic journals. Does not include last few years.

Bibliography of British and Irish History  
Provides bibliographic data on historical writing dealing with the British Isles, and with the British Empire and Commonwealth, from 55 BC to the present.

PAIS International
Indexes the social sciences with emphasis on contemporary worldwide social, economic and political issues, and public policy. Covers journals, books, government publications, and directories back to 1915.

Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals
Provides access to legal literature worldwide, covering all forms of foreign (non-Anglo-American) law. Includes comparative law and legal systems, such as Islamic law; socialist law; public and private international law; and transnational commercial law.

HAPI online
A source for authoritative, worldwide information about Central and South America, Mexico, the Caribbean basin, the United States-Mexico border region, and Hispanics in the United States. (Not full text.)

Locating articles

Found an article? Click on Get it @ Duke to locate the full-text for items you find in the databases. A box will pop up and tell you if the item is available online or in print.

Need help using Get it @ Duke? Check out this short tutorial (2 min).

Not available through Duke? Request it (free!) from another library using Document Delivery.

Your Librarian

Carson Holloway
Librarian for Military History, History of Science and Technology, Britain, Ireland and Commonwealth

Perkins and Lilly Libraries