Skip to main content

EDUC 497: Reflective Practice and School Leadership: Content area

Searching Books & Media

Search the Duke Library Catalog for books to gather background info on your content areas

Search TRLN gives you access to materials at UNC, NC State, NCCU and Duke 

*And don't forget about books and journals available to you and your students through Jordan High School's Media Center and Durham County Library!

Searching databases

Search these databases for scholarly (peer reviewed) articles, newspapers and background materials on a range of topics:

ALL tab searches books, newspapers, articles and more across hundreds of databases 

Oxford Reference Online contains dictionaries, encyclopedias and other reference sources on a range of topics

Academic Search Complete provides full-text articles on nearly every academic field of study

MAS Ultra School edition is a comprehensive general reference source -- find dictionaries and encyclopedias on a range of topics

Google Scholar includes citations to scholarly articles on a range of topics.  Learn how to make the most of Google Scholar.

Web of Science is an interdisciplinary databaes -- great for bibliography mining

America: History and Life is the premier database for research in American and Canadian history

ERIC and Education Full Text are the top sources for articles, books and reports about the field of education

*All of the databases above may be accessed on campus or off campus with a net ID/password.  Want off-campus access after you graduate?  Check out the resources and services available to Duke alumni.

NC Wiseowl: High School Zone is a collection of research sources available to all NC teachers and students 

SIRS Knowledge Source contains articles, primary sources, websites and graphics to support K-12 students with research, study and homework

Citing sources

Research and Documentation Online *Includes sample papers in CSE, MLA, APA and Chicago formats

Create a free account in RefWorks or Endnote to manage your citations.

Subject Guide

Emily Daly
229 Perkins Library

Class reflection