Skip to main content

EDUC 390 - Research in the content areas: Library Guide

Brainstorming search terms

What search terms will you use to find information related to your research topic or question? 

Click the link below, and enter the search terms you plan to use to find sources. 

Citing sources

Check out these sites for tips on citing sources:

Consider using RefWorks, a web-based program that will help you collect, organize, share and format citations.

Research process

Work from a broad topic to a specific research question by using a variety of search tools.  Consider following these steps:

  • search for books and background reference material in the library catalog
  • find a broad variety of articles on your general topic using the ALL search
  • find articles from scholarly journals related directly to your research question using specialized databases listed below  

Locating books

Catalog says available? Go to that library to pick it up in person.

Book checked out or at the Library Service Center(LSC)? Request it by clicking on "Request this title" in the upper right corner, and then clicking "Request."

Top databases for EDUC 390 research

Search these databases for scholarly (peer reviewed) articles on a range of topics:

ALL search on the Duke University Libraries homepage 

Oxford Reference Online contains dictionaries, encyclopedias and other reference sources on a range of topics

Academic Search Premier provides full-text articles on nearly every academic field of study

MAS Ultra School edition is a comprehensive general reference source -- find dictionaries and encyclopedias on a range of topics

Google Scholar includes citations to scholarly articles on a range of topics.  Learn how to make the most of Google Scholar.

SocINDEX includes comprehensive coverage on all aspects of sociology

America: History and Life is the premier database for articles on the history and culture of Canada and the US

Web of Science is an interdisciplinary databaes -- great for bibliography mining

Not finding the right database for your topic?  Check out Research Guides for suggestions for getting started in a specific field, and consider meeting with a subject specialist for additional assistance.

Tips for using Duke's databases

Find the right database for your research by clicking Research Databases from the Libraries homepage

Need help choosing a database? Find a guide to doing research in your subject area.

Click on Get it @ Duke to locate the full-text for items you find in the databases. A box will pop up and tell you if the item is available online or in print.

Not available through Duke? Request it from another library using Interlibrary Loan.

Subject Guide

Emily Daly
Contact:
229 Perkins Library
919.660.5879
Subjects:Education